We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joanne R
Zelienople, Pennsylvania

Good location

Review of Sunrise Lodge
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 11, 2016
Nice place to stay, good breakfast, helpful hosts. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. We were in the back, while it was quiet, the back yard space looked cluttered and unkempt. It was nice to sit on the balcony, but we were given the impression, or flat out told that once the guest arrived that reserved the rooms at the front, we had to leave. The balcony should be a common space. Walk into Galway is short. Walk back to sunrise lodge is long. Galway was my favorite. To op
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$196
  • Expedia.com
    $206
  • Agoda.com
    $182
  • Hotels.com
    $206
0.8 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$258
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $249
  • Algotels
    $235
  • Expedia.com
    $249
1.3 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$277
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $277
  • Agoda.com
    $255
  • Priceline
    $277
3.6 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Leonardo Hotel Galway Bedroom
Booking.com
$232
  • Hotels.com
    $232
  • Agoda.com
    $225
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Algotels
2.4 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$219
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $224
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
  • Hotels.com
    $224
1.2 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
INTERIOR
Booking.com
$197
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $205
  • Agoda.com
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $205
2.2 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sophie's Rooftop
Booking.com
$257
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $286
  • Agoda.com
    $242
  • Official Site
    $292
1.3 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $163
  • Hotels.com
    $163
  • Tripadvisor
    $163
5.9 miles from Sunrise Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Galway
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
221
64
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
221
64
12
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 298 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016

We are just finishing up a three-night stay at Sunrise Lodge. Joan and Peadar are simply wonderful and make you feel at home right away. The location couldn't be better--right by Galway Bay in Salt Hill, a short walk to Galway center and an even shorter walk to some lovely restaurants in Upper Salt Hill. The rooms are extremely clean and the bed was comfy. Loved the linens. Breakfast was fine. Our room was quite small, however, and the bathroom light didn't work and was not fixed during our stay. But these are pretty small complaints and did nothing to hurt our lovely stay here.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

I stayed here with my husband and three children. The rooms are cozy, clean and very comfortable. Everything in the bedrooms is painted in light colors and the linens are wonderful. When we got there we made ourselves a cup of tea and just enjoyed our beautiful room and the view of the sea. Joan and Peader, your hosts, were so kind and helpful. They helped us with directions around town and the surrounding countryside. Breakfast was great and the sitting room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. I hope that I can go back to Sunrise someday!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mollyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights and we highly recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Galway. The hosts, Peadar and Joan, are wonderful. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. The B&B is a short 10-15 minute walk to the center of town which allows you easy access to restaurants, shops, bars, etc. However, being located out of town right by the water, the B&B allows you time to decompress. The rooms are comfortable and the daily breakfast is excellent.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeteZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

My husband and I picked the Sunrise Lodge Bed and Breakfast while during our Ireland honeymoon. When we arrived, Peader made us feel very welcomed after our long drive. He showed us our room (that had a deck and a view of the Galway Bay!), gave us a map along with recommendations of where to go to and eat, and let us use his phone to contact the car rental place as we didn't have a working phone of our own. We told Peader we wouldn't be able to attend breakfast the next morning due to our scheduled plans, and he offered us a cold breakfast with coffee before we left for our plans. The next morning, to our pleasant surprise, Joan greeted us and made us a hot breakfast! We were very grateful and left for our busy day with a full stomach! This quiet place is a 5 minute walk to Salthill and 10-15 minute walk to Galway with a beautiful view of the Galway Bay.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saramorris0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Great location, friendly owners, just a pleasant place to stay. One would think that you are part of their family. One of the coziest b&b stays I have experienced.

Highly recommended to anyone needing a relaxing stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack_Plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews