We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunrise Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$150
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$295
$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$155
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$177
$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
$268
$213
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
182
53
12
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
53
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalway bayshort walkgreat locationlovely seasideattentive hostssalt hilloverlooking the bayattic roombed and breakfastrestaurants and pubsminutes walkingfront of the housefresh towelsirish breakfasthomemade sconesthree night staycity centre
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 248 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2009

For visiting Galway you could not ask for a better location. It is literally right on the end of the Salthill Promanade. You walk out the door and turn right and you on on the beach and all the shops, stores and pubs of the bayfront. You turn left and a 10-15 minute walk you are in city centre and Quay Street, close yet away from the noise and bustle.
I do not have much experience with B&B's, and there are literally handfulls on every street it seems. However, Sunrise Lodge was very comfortable. Peadar was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. The breakfasts were great in a comfortable yet formal setting. All the B&Bs seem to charge about the same per person. There are some fancier places in Salthill but unless you are spending a lot of time time your room what is the point. Sunrise Lodge is a great location ,comfortable with great breakfasts, and nice owners/ hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjjeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We arrived at Sunrise Lodge late in the evening having travelled from Dublin. Parking is right in front of the House. Unfortunately our key was locked in the car before removing our luggage, and the Owner Peadar immediately took action phoning the AA and sorted out the problem. Thanks Peadar! My husband and I were travelling with my Mom therefore we had a triple room for convenience. Very comfortable and clean. Wonderful breakfast as well. Very convenient for walking along the seaside and a wonderful Italian Restaurant just up the road!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

I was staying in this B&B for 3 days. The owner Peadar nad Jane are really charming people, and they definatelly know what is a good customer service. When we arrived, Peadar took us to our room, he showed us the view on the bay and told us which way we should go if we want to get to Galway city " 15 minutes by foot if you will take the promenade". He wasn't mistaken, the City centre is really close to the B&B. He asked us what type of breakfast we want in the morning and what time it should be prepared for us. He gave us maps of the area and said what is worth seeing. I have never met any B&B owner who would be so helpful for his the guests. The room service was great as well, everyday we were getting fresh towels, the bin was taken out and the bed was made (not that we left a mess but making it the way they do, it's a challenge:). Everyday Peadar was asking us how we spent the previous day and what plans we have, he was always very helpful with giving us maps or ideas what else we should see. The B&B itself is very quiet, it has a lovely dining room, and makes an impression of being elegant as well. It doesn't have swimming pool or restaurant, but you will find them in the area anyway. There is and Aquarium in a distance of 10 min walk, really worth seeing, there is swimming pool and leisureplex next to it as well. I am not sure if pets are allowed, but you can always ask. If it's about a nice restaurant I can recomend Kashmir- Indian and Pakistani food.mmmmmmm....Salthill is a great place to start your journey to Cliffs of Moher and Sunrise Lodge is definatelly the place where you want to rest after eventful day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicja_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2008

We were on a drive holiday around Ireland and were booking accommodation as we found it or saw it. This is one of four or five B&B's in a row with a view across Galway Bay but far enough back from the main thoroughfare that noise was not an issue. Sunrise Lodge is very comfortable and the welcome is genuine. From the moment we arrived Peadar could not do enough for us. We had a problem with our PDA and before we knew it he had phoned a local computer company and said we would come. Problem fixed. Wi fi is free. Breakfast was lovely - lots of fresh food cooked and served generously and with care in a very pretty dining room. Our bedroom had a sliding door to a small verandah overlooking the Bay and also allowing lots of lovely fresh air. All you needed for tea and coffee making in the room - all clean and little biscuits to accompany the tea. In five minutes you are in the city centre and there are lots of great restaurants within walking distance as well as a laundromat. Parking is directly out the front and free!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Happy_Blot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews