We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By the promenade”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #10 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“By the promenade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Pleasant stay -comfortable bed, very hot and powerful shower, warm room (and this was a cold June, so important), friendly and helpful hosts, queit location right by the promenade. Breakfast good quality, somewhat limited range by today's standards.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Paedar and Joan are very nice people and so helpful. Paedar gave us advice on a great restaurant for dinner, gave me directions to get my laundry done, etc. We had a family room facing the water. The view was great and there was plenty of space for the 3 of us. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof52011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is a great B&B. The host is very friendly and goes out of his way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay, even arranging for tours, etc. The location was excellent, we had an ocean view room and only a short walk into Galway (~ 12 mins). The breakfast was very good. Free WiFi. We stayed in a triple room which was very nice and clean and the bathroom was a good size. The water can take up to 5 minutes to heat up for the shower however they make sure you know this when you get there :)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We had a pleasant stay at the Sunrise. It is just within walking distance of the center of town. The room was comfortable, with traditional decor. Breakfast was good and included french press coffee. Peader was an efficient host and offered several sightseeing tips.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetstobrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a very pleasant two nights stay overlooking the bay of Galway Bay in a lovely quieter area of Galway. Peadar and Joan were very friendly and helpful hosts. Peadar gave us information about the sightseeing of Connemarra and the Burren which we found very helpful. He also suggested cafe's in the local village area which were lovely. The food anmd service were excellent.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brigidsull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

Knut, Notodden, Norway:
Two nights at the Sunrise Lodge made our stay in Galway just perfect. Nice rooms with great view to the sea, great breakfast and perfect distance from the towncentre (only a few minutes walk). Peadar and Joan were the best of people and made our stay super. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kingknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Arrived here without a reservation, but the host was most gracious in accepting us in for our one night stay. The room was sunny with a pretty view of the garden in the back of the building. The host was great in recommending a local restaurant and gave us a discount coupon for this; wonderful meal there. This is a great site to leave your car and either walk into town or take a walk along the beach. What stands out here is the graciousness of the host and his desire to make sure you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#13 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge

Property: Sunrise Lodge
Address: Sunrise Lodge 3 Ocean Wave | Dr. Colohan Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing