We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below basic”
Review of Nimmos Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nimmos Hostel
Ranked #47 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Reviewed July 10, 2012

me and my boyfriend only stayed here one night, there was nothing to do, wasnt very clean and the beds wernt very comfortable. no locks on the doors which made me worry about safety only a code on the front door. i asked for a room with less people and we were given a room with 9 beds and just us! so didnt have to share with others. for 12 euro it did the job as we were stuck last minute. wouldnt go back.

Room Tip: ask for a room with less people in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LammyLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

I won't recommend this hostel highly, but I got lucky as it was directly opposite to the Volvo ocean race village the main attraction for my visit.

Although Galway is a small city so the location of the hostel isn't bad and rooms are decent enough as well. But the Kitchen isn't that great and I guess in terms of security there isn't anything at all. But you don't expect much when you pay as little as I did.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touring_ravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I spent a couple of nights in this hostel and the place might not be Buckingham Palace but the guy who runs the place is such a lovely man that I definitely recommend Nimmos Hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isbeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I stayed at Nimmos for the weekend with a group of friends. The location is fantastic, it's less than a 5 minute walk into the centre of Galway. As for the hostel itself, the beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, the bathrooms were cleaned every morning, the staff are friendly and it's such good value! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali4MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

When arriving att Nimmos the first thing that encountered us was two or three very suspicous people outside it's entry. There were beer bottles all over the ground and the feeling of the place was not very friendly.
When checking in we asked if we could pay when leaving and were told that that would not be a problem. Two nights later we were woken up at 00.45 by the manager who asked us to pay because, as he said, his boss was there and needed the money.
The beds were of a reasonable quality being a hostel but our room smelled greatly of chlorine as the carpet was drenched in it in a futile attempt of the manager to wash away vomit from it.
The showers was of extremely low quality and very dirty. If it hadn't been for the fact that we hadn't been able to shower for two days we would never have sat foot in them.
While being in the showers I overheard a conversation by two other guests at the hostel. One girl saying to the other "did you search the web for the worst hostel in Galway, or what!". This is, I believe, a great summary of ones stay at Nimmos.

Nimmos was the worst hostel I've ever set foot in during my years of travelling. By far. I would not recommend the place, not even to my greatest enemy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viktorrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hostel was very old and as the facilities. It is clearly overpriced in the weekends, we've been told that during the week it's cheaper.
There's a smoking terrace beside the hostel, so if you want to rest, better look for another place.
No breakfast included!!!!
However, it's the cheapest one we found in Galway, so if you are looking for a cheap hostel and you don't mind if it's old, go.
Besides, the man that looks for the place is lovely, helpful and charming.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickeymanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Andoni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
5.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimmos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimmos Hostel

Address: 1 Dominick Street Upper, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing