We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glasan Holiday Village
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Omagh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great budget accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July 2012 along with our children. This is a student village which is rented out to holidaymakers in the summer. We stayed in a three bedroom apartment which was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly on booking in and willing to help in any way. The apartment had a double and two single rooms with three bathrooms, one ensuite. The apartment met our needs very well as we used it as a base for exploring Galway, Salthill and Co. Clare. The complex is well spaced out and has a tennis court/football pitch which our kids loved. There are shops, cafes and launderette nearby. If you're looking for reasonably priced accomodation this will suit you well. We loved it and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasan, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Orla D,

Thank you so much for your positive repsonse. We are constantly looking for feedback negative and positive to allow us to measure how we are doing and improve our systems where neccessary.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Glasan Holiday Village to the future and i will pass on your good regards to all the staff;

Kind Regards,

Olivia O'Brien
Operations Manager
091 773333
obrien@glasan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My Husband, my brother in law and I stayed here for the Galway races in July 2011. We arrived to find vomit on the door step of the appartment and when we opened door of appartment we got a horrible smell and was very dirty I complained to the Management and they moved us to the appartment next door. This appartment was not much better it was very dirty with mould on wooden spoons in drawer, dirty floors, work top and cooker. Toilets were filty with dirt in corner of showers, toilet brush had faeces on it.
Carpet tiles in bed room had sticky stains of some kind on it and carpet tiles were torn in several places. We spent the first day cleaning the appartment from top to bottom which we had to buy lots of cleaning agents and disinfectant. I took photos on my phone before I cleaned and showed the photos to the Management who agreed that it was terrible but that they were planning on renovating the appartments soon. She offered us a refund but as it was Galway race week we found it impossible to get alternative accommodation so we were forced to stay. The Manager gave us a discount from €775 for the week to €575 as she could see from the photos on my phone that it was filthy and unexceptable. The pilars at the entrance to Glasan say Holiday Village but due the dredfull standard of this appartment it could not be considered Holiday standard and was the worst appartment I have ever stayed in and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Caroline,

Please accept my apologies for the delay in responding to you.

Just a quick recap of what we offer - Glasán is a self catering accommodation with a variety of house styles to suit all self caters both large and small. We are a no frills complex offering budget accommodation.

In relation to your complaint and what has been outlined above I agree 100% that neither apartment was up to standard on your arrival. We have contract cleaners on site at all times and we would have rectified the cleaning issues on arrival had they been flagged to us. We certainly would not expect any guests to have to clean rented properties on arrival. This was totally unacceptable.

In relation to the capete units i am delighted to confirm that we have upgraded 89 of the properties in Glasan from a carpet tile to laminate wooden floor; we can assure you this has made a huge improvement to the standard of accommodation that we now offer. We would hope to complete the remaining 29 houses before the end of our summer season.

In conjunction with this upgrade we have fully reviewed our cleaning procedures and policies. We have extended the cleaning specification in order to eliminate any cleaning complaints going forward.

I would welcome the opportunity to provide you with accommodation in future and assure you my very best attention.

Please contact me on (091) 773333 or at obrien@glasan.com should you require any further assistance.

Olivia O'Brien
Operations Manager
Glasan Student Village
T - 091-773333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

The self catering apartment was fantastic! Bottle of wine awaiting us on arrival. The food at the restaurant FC's was superb! We were expecting your typical lasagnes/salads etc. but the family run restaurant had great food and matched anything in the city that was double the price. Shop on site was helpful and the accomodation was less than 5minutes drive from the Race Track.
Will stay again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budzaer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Poster,

We are delighted to receive your positive feedback regarding our self catering accommodation. I will also pass on your compliments to Frank Casey who runs the onsite restaurant.

If you haven't already rebooked with us for the races Galway 2012 i would advise you to do so without further delay as we currently have very limited availability .

If you require any further information do not hesitate in contacting us,

Kind Regards,
Olivia O'Brien
Operations Manager
091 773333 / obrien@glasan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

I stayed hear for the academic years 06/07, 07/08 and 08/09. The only reason i returned was beacuse my parents could afford it and it was accross the road from the college. Firlstly do not expect your deposit back, they use this from replacing light bulbs to repainting(charging 30euro to paint over a blu tack mark on the wall). They will also charge for getting cleaners in at the end of the year even if the house was spotless. Secondly ESB bills, in my third year we lived above the shop in glasans apartments. We are pretty sure our bill was the shops electricity and ours divided. The ESB bill goes to glasan office first so you have no confirmation if it was just for your apartment/house. Thirdly parking, my boyfriend got clamped 3 times in glasan. To register a car in your name there you need proof you're insured on it. My boyfriend only stayed 3hours one day and got clamped, the next time he got clamped at 3 in the morning and then on a sunday morning. We were told clamping was during college hours (9 to 6 monday to friday) not 24/7. It costs 80euro to be declamped. The next thing security, all our fire alarms went off one night and one of us was locked out of our rooms so we didn't know if something caught alit in there so we rang them, they said they were busy at the minute... Another thing if lets say your fire alarm won't stop beeping(connected to the mains), your fridge stops working or the key card slot on your door stops working...expect a week for them to get maintenance in. Also if you do not put your wheelie bin out you get charged 15euro every week you don't put it out. Our bin was empty one week as we were all away and we were still charged! Also if you forget ur keycard in your room and are locked out you get a mouthfull from security and a charge of 7euro.. Their 'high speed' broadband connection works a few days of the week...some weeks not at all. I wouldn't recommend it...i know it's convenient but it's not worth the bother!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank aunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasan, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Dear Poster,

Apologies for the extreme delay in reponding to the post. Glasan have only recently signed up to trip advisor.

In response to your complaint during your academic stays please note,

A) Glasan will not unlawfully retain a student deposit. Cleaning and painting charges are appotioned between the student and landlord based on our findings at the end of the academic year. Damages noted and missing inventory apply also. The landlord is billed for his share of fair wear and tear.

B) ESB
There is no physical way Glasan can tamper with the document, we receive all bills into the office, they are photocopied and passed onto the students immediatley to retain for there records. The Glasan store recieved its own electricity bill, payable directly by the shop.
On a more positive note Glasan have recently changed electricity provider to Energia, with saving of between 14-16% to students.

C) Permit Parking.
In September 2008 we introduced permit parking. Information regarding the new system was published onsite, sent to students pre arrival and advertised in the office. Patrols were not advertised, students were advised to park off site until a valid permit was displayed. Please note we currently rent visitor permits from the office, an additional service to our vistors to Glasan.

D) Security
Security are onsite to moniter and discourage, we are not farmiliar with the circumstances surrouding the other matter security were dealing with on the night your alarm went off therefore we are unable to comment. The charge remains for the key locked in the room - €5.
We have also changed security providers.

E) Maintenance
Glasan employ a full time maintenance personnel. We can assure prompt assistance where maintenance issues are reported on site. Please allow 24 hours for an external contractor to rectify any issues.

F) Refuse
With the ever changing environment Glasan have introduced recycling on site and removed the 167 indiviudal bins . We have placed 11 strategic waste management centres around the site. Fines for students who did not put there bin out on time have since been removed on campus.

Glasan management and its investors have worked hard for the betterment of the village. We have completed a full internal & external paint, replaced lounge curtains and are replacing all lounge furniture for the coming academic year 2010-2011.

We strive to make Glasan a welcoming campus for incoming and returning students. We offer the utmost of customer care and welcome your views on board so that we can turn a negative into a positive,

I trust the above is satisfactory however if you require any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting the office on 091 - 773333.

Olivia O'Brien
Opeations Manager
Glasan Student Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moytura House B&B
Moytura House B&B
#79 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasan Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasan Holiday Village

Property: Glasan Holiday Village
Address: Ballybane Road | Galsan, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glasan Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Glasan? Literally everything required for a self-catering holiday is provided in Glasan. Each unit contains Fully equipped kitchen including - crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. Tea/Coffee facilities. Microwave, Iron and Ironing Board. Fridge Multichannel TV. Bathroom and ensuite bathrooms. Toiletries in each unit, freshly laundered linen and towels. Ample storage space. FREE WIFI. We are a no frills / budget accommodation service provider.Facilities also include Reception, Shop, Launderette, Large Green area, Tennis/Soccer court, Security Patrols (outside of office hours) 24 Hour CCTV. Glasan Village is situated in a prime location on the outskirts of Galway, just ten minutes from the city centre just opposite the Galway Mayo Institute of Technology and an excellent base for holiday makers looking for day trips / excursions.With the renowned Galway Races and the Galway Arts Festival. Galway City is the Gateway to Beautiful Connemara, the Burren and the unique Aran Islands. Each unit is provided with a '"'Galway Brochure'"' outlining the many areas of interest with details of attractions close by and the many festivals taking place locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Glasan Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing