We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”
Review of Snoozles Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snoozles Hostel
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at Snoozles for four nights while exploring the Galway area, and it was always a nice place to return to after a long day. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us information on what to do and answering all our questions. The large hallways make it seem more like a hotel than a hostel, and the rooms were spacious enough. We had a bathroom attached to our 6-person room, so on one hand it was nice to not have to walk down the hall to use the bathroom, but it made it a little difficult to find time for all of us to shower in the morning.

The hostel was clean and welcoming, well-positioned in Galway while avoiding the loudness of hostels on the pub-packed downtown streets. It was right next door to the bus station, which came in very handy as we took bus tours two days in a row!

Overall, staying at Snoozles helped make our visit to Galway a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear JuliaMichelle,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted you rated us 5/5 overall and that you found Snoozles to be clean and welcoming. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we really enjoyed helping you make the most of your time in Galway. We hope you have a safe onward journey and enjoy the rest of your vacation! The Team at Snoozles Galway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    108
    44
    14
    4
See reviews for
30
54
66
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

24 of us booked in for a stag weekend, our first time in Galway. As soon as we landed at 9pm on Friday night we checked in, put our bags in room then went into the city centre. We got home around 2/3am, we had 3 rooms one a room of 10, and 2 rooms of 7. We were a bit noisy but nothing major and nothing you wouldn’t expect from 24 lads on a stag party. The reception fella (think his name was Giprat) called in and asked us to be quiet as someone complained we apologised and went to sleep shortly after that. The next morning we were told we were kicked out and had to be checked out by 12. We asked for our deposits back as our rooms where in pristine condition, but we were told no as in the snoozles terms and conditions they can refuse to give your deposits back due to noise, very sneaky from them to be honest. Every other hostel in Galway was booked out and only some of us got accommodation while others had to sleep in bus shelters because of snoozles. If there’s a group of you's heading down I would STAY AWAY from this hostel. One of the workers in the local shop explained to us that the snoozle employees are the ones giving themselves good reports on this website. SCUM

Room Tip: STAY AWAY from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear ShaneB,

Thank you for your review and for allowing me the opportunity to address these issues in public – I’m glad you thought us worthy enough to be at the receiving end of your first ever tripadvisor review!

Allow me to refresh your memory of that night. Before you even checked in, a member of your group vomited on the footpath outside the building – another was seen on camera urinating in our flowerpots at the side of the building. Less than 10 minutes after you checked into your rooms, a beer bottle was thrown out the window, narrowly missing a mother and son walking below. (Luckily for her we had cleaned up your vomit at this stage!). At this point we called to your room and you were given a warning and asked to behave.

Later in the night when you returned from the pub, some members of your group verbally insulted and intimidated another group staying with. We had to have additional security patrolling your corridor exclusively to try and keep your group under control – we have never had to do this before.

Regarding the security deposit – this is taken as an incentive to encourage groups to have fun while at the same time respecting other guests – something your group was incapable of doing. It is a pity you did not stop and consider other guests instead of spending the night causing a disturbance. Your group was the first group of 2013 who did not receive their full security deposit back – it was given as refunds to any other guests whose stay you disturbed.
We made a conscious decision to remove your group on Saturday morning as we pride ourselves on offering comfortable and safe accommodation – something your group did not allow us to do.

I would just like to remind potential customers and groups reading this, in 2012, we were voted the 2nd best hostel in the WORLD for groups (out of 27,000 hostels - please contact us directly if you would like more information). We also have several tripadvisor awards for excellence and of the last 14 tripadvisor reviews, 12 have been contributed by past guests who have submitted more than one review. I really doubt the local shop staff are concerned by our reviews and I assure you these reviews were contributed by well travelled guests, not staff.
I’m sure everybody reading this can see straight though it – your group caused major hassle for our other guests, we asked you to leave to avoid any further disturbance and rather than man up and admit your group was wrong, you take out our anger on Tripadvisor and make accusations about fake reviews?

Our customers are our lifeblood – we strive to ensure every guest has an enjoyable time in Galway and we will not tolerate behaviour like we witnessed from your group under any circumstances.

Thank you for your review and for allowing me the opportunity to correct the points you raised.
Shane Healy, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hostel is literally right next door to the bus station, which is perfect for travelers coming from Dublin by bus. It's also very walkable from the city center. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly and showed us to our room (private w/dbl bed & en-suite bathroom). The room was clean and was well worth the price. All was well until a nasty, loud domestic dispute between a couple happened during the wee hours of the morning. It seemed that no staff had made an attempt to shut the couple up and we saw the couple at breakfast in the morning, still fighting and carrying on. It was a very embarrassing situation and we definitely lost some sleep due to their loud shouting. Perhaps the staff here need to pay closer attention to late-night goings on within the hostel rooms and hallways.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meaghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear MeaghanH,

Thank you for your review – constructive feedback such as yours is very valued as it allows us to improve our service. I’m glad you found our location central and that you found your room to be clean and good value for money. I’m sorry for the behaviour of the couple who stayed that night - we have regular security patrols on our corridors and that couple were given a warning to quieten down. We hope you enjoyed your time in Galway and had a safe onward journey. Shane and all the team at Snoozles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not a big lover of hostels but I could not fault this place, The staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful, chatty, the whole place was clean and nice, 3 mins walk from shop street, Thanks a mill guys! Keep up the good work! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L086-IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Jennifer S,
Thank you for your review and for the brilliant tagline – we have never been compared to a Rolls Royce before! I’m glad we had the opportunity to change your view of hostels. As with hotels, there are some horrible ones out there so ensure you always choose registered and approved accommodation – be sure to check out their Tripadvisor reviews also! I apologise on behalf of the unfriendly staff member – this is not our usual standard. We hope you enjoyed your time in Galway and had a safe onward journey! Shane and all the Snoozles Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After staying in a gross hostel in Dublin, I had started to decide I was getting too old for the hostel experience. But nearing the end of a 10 day trip to Ireland, a friend and I wanted to stay near the Galway city centre and couldn't find a b&b close enough (I had a sprained ankle, so we were trying to limit walking). This hostel was wonderful. They washed and folded my laundry for only 8 euro and it had many services similar to a nice hotel. Toast, juice and cereal was included, although I woudn't call it breakfast. The staff were very friendly. We stayed in a four bed dorm and the second night, no one else was in the room. The mattresses were comfy as were the pillows. Everything was very clean. My one complaint was that the wifi did not work from the third floor dorm room, even thought the staff said it would. When I told a staff member, he said there were probably too many people on it. when I said I couldnt even find the network from the room, he shrugged and walked off (he was the one exception to the friendly staff). However, the wifi did work well from the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Guys!

Thank you for your great review! It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope you had a safe onward journey! The Team At Snoozles Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed with a group of 6 friends. Very clean, warm, comfy beds, ideal location, very reasonable, car parking fee only €5 overnight, very friendly girl on reception, would definitely stay here again as would the rest of the girls..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaisar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Kaisar007,

Thank you for your lovely review! We were delighted to read it and we think the ultimate compliment is when you say you would definitely stay again – we hope to see you soon! The Snoozles Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahir, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

OMG! Snoozels is the bomb!!! When we arrived we were looked after from the moment we entered the building. Car parking reduced, seperate key cards, after hour security passes. Spotless canteen and relaxing area. A vending machine with everything from Water to Redbull and goodies (There was even Noodles) Fully equipped Kitched area, laundrette, Safes, Locks, Towels, Maps... and as for the beds, well all I can say is I was warm, Comfy, firm and Spotless and it brough back memories of all the trips I had taken when I was younger. Everything was spotless, Ensuite shower room, with soap, hot water and tons of room. We were like 5 teenagers in the room. It didn't even matter we ranged in ages from 25 to 38. The bride to be loved the bunk beds. Very quite during the night. The girl from Donegal (I'm so sorry I can't remember her name) was so helpful. Next morning we didn't make breakfast but there are several areas around the hostel including a Mace across the road to get goodies and breakfast and you can get a discount in one of the hotels if you show your pass. Did I mention parking half price at only a fiver for night. It was brilliant - so friendly and inviting. Loads of sofas and chairs for the tired hikers -
Thanks Snoozels for a wonderful time and for making the Henparty Experience a night to remember fondly.
thanks from the Hens in Tipp - Ieva - Bride , Noelle and Liliy- Bridemaids, Denise and Josie

Room Tip: 2nd floor was definitely quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle501_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Noelle501_13,

Thank you so much for your great review – we were thrilled to read it! It was a pleasure to look after you and thank you for choosing Snoozles Hostel for your Hen Party - we are glad we helped you have a night to remember! We look forward to having you stay with us in the not too distant future. Best wishes for your forthcoming Wedding!
The Team At Snoozles Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 46 in Galway
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 58 in Galway
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snoozles Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoozles Hostel

Property: Snoozles Hostel
Address: Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Snoozles Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snoozles Hostel is a multi award-winning purpose-built hostel in the heart of Galway City. Our accommodation range includes dorms for 10, 6 or 4 guests along with double, single and twin rooms, female only dorms and family rooms - and every room is en-suite. Snoozles staff are friendly and informative and will give you all the tips on how to make the most of your time in the west. Ideally located in a semi residential area, beside Galway's City coach station yet only seconds walk from Eyre Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Snoozles Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing