We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic wee B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #170 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic wee B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hostess Marzena & jj i think ,went out of her way to make you fell at home,full of advice & organized day trips for us. ,breakfast 10 out of 10 best I've had in a while ,clean rooms ,friendly atmosphere,will definitely return fantastic.

Room Tip: with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    44
    26
    39
See reviews for
45
52
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've never been treated so badly in a B&B. Staff were rude and the place was not good value for the money we paid. Galway is a beautiful city but I would certainly not recommend this place to anyone traveling there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I and two friends received an effusive but strange welcome,as our host actually sat on our bed to "explain" about the breakfasts and take our orders. What he didn't explain until the next morning was that the price had gone up E4 each since our original booking.
The house is in a good location, with lovely views over the bay, and within easy walking distance from Galway and the seaside village.
We were in a room with 6 pillows - all really dirty and without pillow protectors. I left the pillow slips off in case staff hadn't noticed they were dressing dirty bedding, but they were just put back and nothing said. There was no mattress-cover on our bed. The T.V. was useless because we couldn't hear it. I came in wet one rainy afternoon - shower freezing! The breakfast waitress was lovely, and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Arriving late one afternoon, we were warmly welcomed by the very friendly hosts. This place has old world charm. While some of the aesthetics and fittings may seem a bit outdated, everything was clean and comfortable. The filling hearty irish breakfast was good. Great location for twilight walks on the prom, and only a quick bus ride into the centre of Galway. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here with wife, daughter and son-in-law. Booked on the internet. We knew it was a little outside town but near the sea, no surprise about the location. What we were not prepared for was the service, gruff to the point of rudeness, and the terrible breakfast. It was a sad introduction to the West of Ireland for the younger people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This establishment is old and could do with paint here and there but the manager and staff work extremely hard to keep the place spotlessly clean. Our room was large with beautiful sea views. The bathroom was small but adequate and finishings looked fairly recent. We loved the location...the walk into Galway is straightforward and being on the promenade until late at night a treat esp in the recent heatwave. We had other plans for breakfast so cannot comment the b&b breakfast. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurnerCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this site through Booking.com where its rating was ok, but I would recommend against staying here. To start with, the location is not central, it's at least a 15 minute walk into town. The Salthill area it is located is not great either. The guest house itself is run down and looks pretty bad from the outside. We had a terrible hard bed, the bedroom furnishings were awful and the overall atmosphere is odd as there are 10 or so rooms but no central reception, so it felt a bit like staying in a small youth hostel. Good points were our room was big, the cooked breakfast was fine and the hosts were friendly, but still, I would have rather paid £10-15 more to stay in a more central hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#34 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#30 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dun Roamin
Dun Roamin
#69 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#113 of 197 in Galway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: The White House The White House The White House 2 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Galway Bay, offering luxurious accommodation close to all main amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing