We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Lios Inis B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lios Inis B&B
Ranked #35 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay here. Joan was lovely, and extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, and have everything you need. It was a great start to our first trip to Ireland. Joan even mailed two items of clothing that I had left behind on to our final hotel destination, at no cost - how often do you come across service like that?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoenix708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Joan's hospitality during our two night stay in Galway was great. Both she and Pat drove us to the city center twice. They made some recommendations that were great. Taffee's in Galway was a great pub that we frequented. We also ate at Kerwin's Lane which was terrific. We highly recommend this locale. The accommodations were quaint and the breakfasts were good. Joan has a terrific sense of humor. We felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 974Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located in Galway a short drive to the coast and connemara. The rooms are decorately very nice. Gives you the comfort of home on the road. Thoroughly enjoyed visiting with the owners. Would definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmelfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed with Joan and Pat for 3 nights while visiting Galway and the surrounding areas. Joan and Pat were very gracious, friendly and accommodating. As soon as we got there Joan had already brought out a map of where we should eat, park, and how to use the public transportation in the area. She also offered to have Pat drive us into town the first night and wouldn't take no for an answer.

Breakfast was consistently great as we both ate a full Irish each morning and Joan easily accommodated whatever time we wanted to leave each day. Tea was supplied and waiting for us each afternoon we returned. We were delighted at the small courtesy that Joan provided in putting a pitcher of milk in our sink with ice so we could have it with our tea when we got home.

While we were not right in the middle of Galway city the bus stop was right outside the home and it was a quick 10 minute ride to the heart of the city. We were also right by N84 so it was easy to hop out to head into Connemara or south to the Cliffs of Moher. We were worried that since it was close to the highway and lots of commercial buildings that it might not be the little charming place we had imagined, but upon arriving we were happy to see that the home and the neighborhood was very charming and the room was cozy. It was a very nice experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenreisamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at Lios Inis. After a longish drive from our last B&B, their cozy home was just what we needed. Joan was so warm and the room was very inviting and comfortable. The house is mere minutes to a shopping center as well as the city center! Location was PERFECT! Just far enough away from everything to feel at home but close enough to go where you want without a problem.
Joan was also very attentive and engaging with our 8 year old son. He remembers Joan as one of his favorite B&B hostesses! :)
The thing that stuck out most of all was Joan going above and beyond for our family. First of all, we were offered a ride in to the city so we didn't have to drive and park downtown...we then caught a cab for the ride home. They saved us the cab fare for one way...certainly not expected! Second, my son developed an abscessed tooth. Joan helped us find a local dentist where my son could be seen (on a Saturday, I might add)...she had been to see this particular dentist and remembered her appointment being on a Sat. She made calls for us to get an appointment and did everything she could to help us out. Then she allowed us to stay for an extra hour past check out to wait for the appointment.
She really did go above and beyond and I was so thankful she was there to point us in the right direction. Dealing with anything medical when you're overseas can be a little daunting and she helped to make it as easy as can be.
Everything was fabulous (including the delicious breakfast) and I would recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Galway City! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

It has been a great place where to spend two days, nice breakfast (we had full irish both days) and the room although not too big it had all the comforts that one could wish for.
I would suggest this place just to travellers with a car though, since it's pretty complicated to reach if you don't.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EleonoraBirib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I chose this location specifically because I had read all the lovely raving reviews here on TripAdvisor and I'm happy to add another one to confirm Joan really truly is very, very lovely. The moment we arrived, she brought us up milk for tea and some yummy chocolate biscuits "for energy." She helped my partner and I get a handle on the city, some suggestions of where to go for food, shopping and live music, and even gave us a lift to the edge of the city centre. Breakfast was delightful and the tea was hot!

It's a wonderful location (outside the city but very nearby - the bus was easy to hop onto from the city centre at the end of the night), although if anyone is looking for a more "romantic" location with their loved one, I would suggest looking more into the countryside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,354 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
B&B Glenariff
B&B Glenariff
#43 of 189 in Galway
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
48 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#33 of 189 in Galway
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#26 of 189 in Galway
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lios Inis B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lios Inis B&B

Address: Lios Inis 4 Coolough Road Illaunree Drive, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: $86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lios Inis B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lios Inis B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing