We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant!”
Review of The Skeff

The Skeff
Ranked #110 of 509 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Uniquely designed busy bar in the heart of Galway city center serving wholesome, quality food. 6 bars under the one roof including a thriving whiskey bar and cocktail bar - sit back enjoy some delicious food and drinks whilst overlooking Eyre Square. The Skeff Bar & Kitchen really is Galway's meeting place.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped in for a pint to watch the Ireland football match. The restaurant was gorgeous and reminiscent of an old ship. The atmosphere was very nice; however due to the beautiful lay out, we found it to not be quite the sports bar atmosphere we were looking for. It was a bit more intimate.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Merbear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Merbear10,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read such positive feedback with regards to our interior as we are blessed to be one of the most unique bars in Galway city. We have over 6 plasma screens and a 7 foot screen to enjoy all sporting matches on within the bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of Eyre Square on your next visit to Galway.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food mMnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 487 of 687 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant is beautiful! From the gorgeous painted roof, to the stunning furnishings, it's what a restaurant should be! Oh, and don't forget the nice food and staff!
We will definetly be returning!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Peter O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read such positive feedback regarding our staff, food and unique interior. Receiving kind reviews like yours makes for great excitement within our staff and I will make sure to pass your comments along to them.

We look forward to seeing welcoming you back on your next visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen.

Kind regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This pub is just gorgeous on the inside, it's quite large, so there's loads of room. Quite interesting design as well, love the Arthur Guinness picture :D Also, if you want to hear some amazing live music, try and catch Alale - incredible band! The only downside to this place is their food is a bit lack lustre- nice carvery at lunchtime, but boring menus otherwise.

Thank AlexisVerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear AlexisVerma,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. We are one of the most unique bars in Galway with intricate wood work which resembles the hull of a ship. There are also many different areas within the bar for people to choose to dine in or to sit back and enjoy some of our live music- the Arthur Guinness picture is most definitely a great talking point! I have taken your views on board regarding our menus- our menus change seasonally so we can ensure the best of local produce appears on them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was very busy, but food was very quick. Great place to go. Plenty of seating of our choosing. Staff very nice, will return when I visit the town again. Will keep you updated.

Thank margaret d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Margaret D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us- as you mentioned we are a very busy spot for lunch but we always aim to serve our customers in a friendly, speedy fashion. We have plenty of seating areas to choose from - with 6 bars and a large outside seating area there is something for everyone to enjoy.
I have passed your kind words on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of Galway city in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We loved the staff. A waitress, think her name Kate and barman with a big smile(sorry, but you did have a big smile) fantastic! Food as always was good. Stayed over night for a wedding, rooms not too clean but, hey, for the price what do you expect? Definitely stay again.

1  Thank Tzar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Tzar497,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. We as a company are always striving to improve our service both from a food and a customer service point of view. I have passed your kind words on to our team about your experince with us and have also informed the hotel of your feedback regarding our bedrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skeff also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Skeff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing