We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skeff

The Skeff
Ranked #83 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uniquely designed busy bar in the heart of Galway city center serving wholesome, quality food. 6 bars under the one roof including a thriving whiskey bar and cocktail bar - sit back enjoy some delicious food and drinks whilst overlooking Eyre Square. The Skeff Bar & Kitchen really is Galway's meeting place.
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I had visited 3 or 4 other pubs and a handful more cafes and eateries before going to the Skeff, but wish that we had gone sooner. We just popped in for a pint, but the food smelled so good that we got a couple of small things. We enjoyed a great view of Eyre Square from our table near the bar while sipping on whiskey and some pints.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Owner at The Skeff, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable experience with us and that our food smelled so good it tempted you to try it- our kitchen team were chuffed to pieces with the review.

We are blessed with our central location with Eyre Square being right outside our front door and I'm glad that you got to experience that. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    179
    66
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best place for a drink in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stumbled upon this place by accident. Went inside and got a beer and just enjoyed the atmosphere. Live music was great. The multiple stories and different bars were fantastic and the wood and paintings made it quite unique.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank TryciaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear TryciaL,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I'm delighted that you got to enjoy our live entertainment and our "Skeff" atmosphere. We here at The Skeff Bar and Kitchen feel we offer something unique to the Galway pub scene with us being one of the largest bars in Galway that offers a wide variety of food, drinks, sports and music.
If you pay a return visit to the city of the tribes make sure you call in to see us again.

Warm regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The menu was a bit limited for my tastes but I was able to find some good choices and they were excellent. The chicken samosas were very flavorful. I am a toffee lover so the Banoffee dessert was amazing!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mandi M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. Being a fellow toffee lover I am partial to the banoffee pie so I was delighted to see you enjoyed it and I also passed your kind wirds on to our kitchen team! I hope to welcome you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in th near future.

Warm Wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great food, a wonderful place, good prices!
We had fish and chips and a lovely dessert, apple pie with custard: simply perfect! Great dinner!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rosara R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read about your enjoyable time with us. We here at The Skeff Bar & Kitchen pride ourselves on offering wholesome, homecooking at a reasonable price. I have passed your kind words on to all our kitchen and floor teams and we look forward to welcoming you back to the heart of Galway soon.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food was lovely, beautiful presentation and our waitress was super nice! We will be going back for some cocktails at the weekend! :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shauna1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear shauna1992,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and I have passed your kind words on to the team. We are well known for our delicious, freshly prepared cocktails so I hope you get a chance to sample them.

Warm wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skeff also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Skeff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing