We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly host, nice house, good location”

High Tide Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Tide Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #99 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly host, nice house, good location”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Pat is very friendly, keen to make you feel welcome and full of suggestions of things to do in the area. The room was nice but the ensuite was quite small with a slated door (you couldn't see in, just out a bit) and the sink in the room rather than by the toilet. Good choice of TV channels. Breakfast was really good, great choice of food and quickly prepared as well. It is only a 10 - 15 minute walk to both Galway City Centre and Salthill, so the location is great meaning we could just leave the car and have some nice walks during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I have stayed at this B&B many times in the past 20 years and it is my favorite place. Pat and her husband are warm and friendly and it is only a 5-minute walk into the heart of Galway City while overlooking Galway Bay. I highly recommend the French toast for breakfast. I recommend it to friends all the time and everyone comes back and tells me what a great place it was to stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamrock547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

A very quaint and elegant bed and breakfast with a superb hostess. Pat and her husband were gracious and accomodating. Some of the rooms are small, but we stayed two nights and were not inconvenienced or intimidated by the room. A very nice area can be used by guests to sit and relax, as we did with a bottle of wine and glasses provided by the hostess. Close to the city, a nice walk on a nice day. Great view and walkway along the water. Breakfast was exceptional, plenty of variety and more than enough to eat. Would recommed to friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Very friendly greeting from Pat. Room was a little bit small but very clean and comfortable. Quiet location but still close to the city. About a 15 to 20-minute walk into the city from a scenic location on the coastline. Breakfast was excellent. Host was very friendly and helpful with advice and didn't cross the line into being bothersome at all. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Antid0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I booked the room via email a few months in advance. My husband and I stayed at High Tide for one night during a two week driving tour of Ireland.

We checked in and were greeted by the owners and their dog. They showed us to our room and gave us some pointers on how to get to town and to the Salthill Hotel where we were going to see a show that evening.

Hosts were very friendly, they had a sitting room for guests with books and brochures. The room was nice, average bedroom size. My husband said it reminded him of when he would sleep over at his Nana's house. There was a small closet. The sink was in the room with a counter. The bathroom (toilet and shower) were literally in a closet, or where there would normally be a closet. The only awkward thing was the door between the bathroom and bedroom was one of those louvered doors, you know, the kind with the slats? It wasn't a solid door. So it was ok for an old married couple like us, but didn't provide absolute privacy. Otherwise, very comfortable place, the view out our window was of the bay with only one street and one sidewalk in between. Couldn't be beat. I was nervous about traffic noise, but even with the window cracked open it didn't bother us at all.

Breakfast was ordered off a menu with several choices, all food was cooked to order along with the usual buffet of cereals, fruits, breads, etc. I had french toast with bacon which was delicious and my husband had the full Irish.

Easy ten minute or less walk to town and twenty minute walk to Salthill area. Parking area in the front of the house with overflow street parking (free), right in front of the house as well, very convenient and safe.

I believe they were at full capacity the night we stayed, which we would have never known except breakfast was very busy in the morning.

It's not luxury, but was very comfortable and the view can't be beat, especially for the price!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayJay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#33 of 45 in Galway
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lawndale B&B
Lawndale B&B
#71 of 185 in Galway
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#20 of 185 in Galway
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
#68 of 185 in Galway
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westwinds Guesthouse
Westwinds Guesthouse
#63 of 185 in Galway
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Tide Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Tide Bed & Breakfast

Property: High Tide Bed & Breakfast
Address: High Tide 9 Grattan Road Grattan Park | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing