We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B close to town”
Review of Rock Lodge B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Lodge B & B
Ranked #94 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great B&B close to town”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in late April 2012. The B&B is under 15 minutes walk (and you wouldn't want to drive and find a park) from the Galway town centre and is a great location with a reasonable supermarket nearby. The parking at the B&B is limited but we had no problems during our stay. The rooms are smallish but quite adequate with plenty of wardrobe space (we put our cases in there). As our host, Bridie was very pleasant and cooked a selection from an Irish breakfast to our taste with plenty of hot coffee. There is a laundromat about five minutes drive away and they offer a service wash at a reasonable price. Being so close to Galway was a real bonus and we easily walked back and forth a few times each day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago/Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed with Bridie (NOT Birdie!) twice--before and after a cycling trip through Connemara. Her B&B is located within easy walking distance of the Salthill Promenade, if that's your thing--or, headed the other way, an easy walk to city centre Galway with a wide variety of pubs, restaurants, music and anything else you might like to do.
The rooms are comfortable, and the parlor is available for any communal activities. She has WiFi, which worked well, and her breakfasts are outstanding. Bridie knows the area well, and can offer advice about most anything you might need. I very much enjoyed my stays with her.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a bit of difficulty finding the B&B at first because there was a Whitestrand Road and a Whitestrand Ave , and roads weren't exactly well-marked, but we found it after a brief search. We had no problem arriving early from our international flight and were even offered breakfast! The room was compact (3 of us with 2 double beds), but immaculate and the beds were very comfy. The shower worked great and the water was piping hot, and amenities were provided. Rock Lodge was within comfortable walking distance to Galway Bay, Salthill Prom, a bit further from city center, tho doable by walking for sure. Breakfasts were hot and delicious. Bridie, our Innkeeper was so hospitable and friendly and offered us touring advice for the next part of our journey. It was a great way to begin our Ireland vacation !!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs, facing the back garden and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The Rock Lodge is in a nice neighbor a short walk to downtown for the pubs and restuarants on Quay St. Birdie Thomson is a wonderful hostess who makes you fell right at home. We stayed two nights while we visited the Burren and Cliff of Mohr. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and when we wanted it.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This was the last B&B my friend and I stayed in on our 2 week trip to Ireland and honestly it was our least favorite. It definitely wasn't a horrible place. In fact it was a nicely kept home. Our room was cramped, same to the bathroom. We didn't really see the owner that much, we more saw her hired help. But whenever we did talk to her she was very kind. Galway wasn't the city it was all cracked up to be. This was probably because tourist season started and there was a festival going on. The pub scene at night was great however my friend and I found ourselves exploring the areas around Galway during the day. You can't really go wrong with this B&B...parking isn't great. There is limited street parking during the day. However, it was comfortable enough.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kcurr961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Rock Lodge is just off the main road a little past the city center. Parking was tight but was manageable. It's about a 10 minute walk to the shops and pubs but you get a nice view of the bay along the way. Birdie was very nice and the rooms were clean. The bathroom was very small though

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Bridie, your B&B is fantastic. The Rock Lodge is located between the Promenade in Salthill and Galway City Centre. It is a 10 minute walk to City Centre and about a 5 minute walk to the Promenade. Rock Lodge has its own private car park, which is important in towns of decent size and especially in a city like Galway. The house is just in a prime location and it just magnificent. It is a very large older home run by a sweet older lady who loves art! She was very accomodating to my wife and I. We went out and bought our own stuff for dinner and brought it back to the house and she gave us cups, plates, and silverware. She also catered to our wants for breakfast instead of giving us a menu and saying, "pick." The street is quiet, so if you need to open the window (since there's no A/C) go right ahead.

Rock Lodge is also in a good location to be able to walk to town but also take a car trip out west to Bearna to their nice bakery and Arabica (coffee house) or out to An Spideal to visit Ceardlann. Ceardlann is a must see for shopping for Irish made items, not tourist junk.

You will make a great choice if you choose to stay in Galway and pick Rock Lodge. Be sure to email them directly and pay cash, not because they don't take vouchers, but you'll find that Rock Lodge is no different from other B&Bs. Pay Cash and you just may get a better deal!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantic View Guesthouse
Atlantic View Guesthouse
#112 of 187 in Galway
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roncalli House
Roncalli House
#52 of 187 in Galway
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Consilio
Consilio
#35 of 187 in Galway
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
Glencree Bed & Breakfast
#73 of 187 in Galway
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynburgh Bed & Breakfast
Lynburgh Bed & Breakfast
#97 of 187 in Galway
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dun Roamin
Dun Roamin
#126 of 187 in Galway
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Lodge B & B

Property: Rock Lodge B & B
Address: Rocklodge Whitestrand Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Lodge B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Galway
Rock Lodge Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing