We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home can never be this good”
Review of Clochard B&B

Clochard B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clochard B&B
Ranked #74 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Souris, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home can never be this good”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Pat and Helena Hanlon went out of their way to make our stay at their B.& B , the best ever. The room was clean and well maintained. They provided a full Irish breakfast with all one could eat. They provided maps of Galway and ideas about things to do and places to go which visiting Galway. Helena suggested a a full day bus tour through the Connemara region north of Galway. The tour company picked us up at the door and provided a spellbounding tour through a region filled with awe and wonder. It was the highlight of our trip to Ireland. The Clochard is within easy walking distance to all the major cites within Galway city. Pat and Helena treat you like you are part of their family. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: The location is in a coul de sac -quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    20
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Clochard is hard to find, but once you realize it's behind a wall... there it is. The room is basic, but everything is clean. Toby the dog, is wonderful. He is not in the B&B, so dont think there is a dog running around. We just had the chance to meet him, and he is great.

The water pressure is not what Americans expect.

Lastly, we only stayed for a night but had booked two. The lady of the house did not apply our deposit and charged us for the full rate of one night, though the man of the house said it was ok for the change when we arrived. So we were out twenty pounds because she doesnt wants to pass on the cost of doing business to her customers instead of understanding that it should be in the rates she charges in the first place. Also, she said that she doesnt accept bookings for 1 night, but there is NO WORD of this on their website or Hostel world when booking or in the confirmation emails. So beware and dont get ahead in your trip.

Never-the-less, the owners were nice, and did I mention Toby?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjglancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

"Clochard" does not mean (as French speakers might suppose) "tramp". It's a combination of Pat and Helena's surnames.
We chose Clochard because we wanted to stay in a B&B and also be within walking distance of the old town; as far as we could tell, only Clochard fitted the bill. It's in a quiet residential area and there are no shops or restaurants nearby, so be prepared for about a 10 minute walk to the centre. The best route is down Shantalla Road to the second intersection, where you can turn left to join the canal, which makes for a pleasant walk. There's also a bus from Shantalla Road to the centre; we are not sure if you need to catch it from a bus stop or if you can just flag it down; certainly once you're on, the driver will let you off anywhere you want.
Pat and Helena are very hospitable, a mine of anecdote and information, and serve an excellent traditional hot Irish breakfast with all the works. The breakfast room is a good place to meet fellow travellers of all nationalities.
The rooms are indeed quite small, but perfectly clean, comfortable and quiet. The back windows look out over the playing fields of, I think, St Mary's College. The bathrooms are modern and functional. The room rates are competitive with those of other similar B&Bs in Galway.
Pat is good at arranging trips to places such as the Aran Islands. He also kindly gave us lifts to the bus stop for the Aran ferry, and to the bus station at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Clochard B&B was recommended to me by a friend. I have to say I enjoyed my stay there very very much. I was in Galway for a business trip for 3 days. The owners Pat&Helena couldn't do enough for me. They gave me excellent recommendations on things to do and places to eat. As I don't have a car, I found the location of the B&B perfect. It's only about 5 or 10 minutes to Eyre Square and the Eyre Square shopping centre. Also only a short distance to Quays Street where there are some great pubs and musical venues. I had a lovely quiet room and everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was also fantastic. I felt very much at home. I will go back to Clochard again on my next business trip to Galway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The place was too far from the town to be convenient for walking- and I like walking. The rooms were very small, and I found the couple who owned the place unfriendly and made me uncomfortable. Breakfast was fine but fruit selection was poor quality. They were able to arrange bus trips to pick up from the B&B which was convenient. Did have wireless internet as well which was a plus. Would not stay again because there are many better options in Galway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2010

On my first trip abroad ever I was lucky enough to stay in a really great welcoming place call Clochard B&B in Glaway, Ireland. The owners of this B&B was so helpful and kind. I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yzzilnoaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Clochard. From the time we arrived to the time we departed, the hospitality could not have been better. The bedroom had beatiful hardwood floors and the scrumptious breakfast kept us full until well into the afternoon. The menu had many options, but my preference was the traditional Irish breakfast. Pat and Helena arranged tour pick-ups for us. Within a 10 mintue walk there is a pub, 24 hour convenience store, Papa Johns pizza, and chinese take away. If my travels ever bring me back to Galway, I will be sure to stay at the Clochard. Thank you again Helena and Pat!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itravelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.9 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#137 of 187 in Galway
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#26 of 187 in Galway
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Forge House B&B
The Forge House B&B
#43 of 187 in Galway
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 58 in Galway
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clochard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clochard B&B

Property: Clochard B&B
Address: Clochard 4 Spire Gardens | Shantalla Road, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clochard B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clochard bed& Breakfast is a Luxurious family bed and Breakfast Quite Historic site, Irish Tourist Board Approved, Registered with Town and Country Homes Ass. and Bed& Breakfast Nationwide U.K 10 minutes walk to City Cenrte to all resturants, Pubs. Music,and to University College Hospital, NUIG. and Beach.Cable T.V , Tea/ Coffee Facalities in all rooms free Internet Access Wi FiAll tours can be arranged on arrival Connemars Tour. Cliffs Moher, Aran Island free pick up for all tours each morning.Guided walking tours arranged for Connemars and the Burren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Clochard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing