We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lawndale B&B

Lawndale B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lawndale B&B
Ranked #79 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I corresponded directly with our hostess Margaret prior to my arrival to Ireland on vacation with my 26 year old son. We arrived in Shannon at 6AM and knew we had many hours before we could check in. Since our room was unoccupied the night before, Maragaret was kind enough to let my son and I to check in at 10AM which gave us time to nap before walking into Galway and Salthill. After meeting Margaret it was like we were old friends and both my son and I gave her a big hug when we left. We stayed for two nights. We had requested a view room but it was unavailable and Margaret apoligized several times. We had a view of the garden and quite honestly the little amount of time we spent in the room the view did not really matter. The walls are a little thin but after staying in other B&B's on our trip it is to be expected. We stayed in 7 B&B's during our trip and Margaret was by far the warmest hostess. She really looks out for her guests. Thanks Margaret for a wonderful welcome to Ireland. Bill and Kevin.

Room Tip: Check ahead to make sure the B&B takes credit cards. Most do not and being prepared with close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    24
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smith River
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived in Galway (salthill) in the rain and stopped for a coffee at Aribica (great place). The waited suggested the area nearby and we stopped at the B&B sign. We were immediately welcomed by Margaret and shown to a nice room at the top of the stairs. Older house modernized with new plumbing in each room. Overlooked the garden and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was all done by Margaret and she provided everything you could want. Easy walk to Galway center and Salthill area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Margaret was a welcoming hostess available to respond to all our queries. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was plentiful and the B and B idealy located just along the Salthill beach and not more than 10 minutes walk from Galway centre town.
I recommend this place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Margaret was a delightful hostess and a perfect introduction to B&B'ing in Ireland. We stayed there two nights and she was a font of information about Galway, Ireland, customs, driving, etc. We had a beautiful room overlooking the bay and wonderful breakfasts each morning. The house is located about 15 minutes from the city center so there is no need to get back in your car and try to figure out the city (especially if it is your first night, as it was for us, outside of Dublin).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTraveler088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed two nights and really enjoyed the experience. Margaret was welcoming, informative, a great cook and very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The shower was clean and had plenty of hot water. It is smallish (I understand they all are in Europe!) and the shower unit is hand-held, but good water flow. Breakfast was hot, filling and very good. There is a private parking area and room on the street. Margaret does not accept plastic so bring cash.

Room Tip: Upper level, facing the Bay. We didn't get one but hear they are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdkerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is our second time to stay with MS Margaret and once again, it was a joy. The house is overlooking Galway Bay and a great location for day tours. Margaret is very warm and welcoming. Her breakfasts are delicious and she is a wealth of knowledge about the area and Ireland. Our room was spotless, as usual. Due to flight problems, we had missed our first night with her, but she was very gracious about it. Lawndale isn't a fancy B&B, but it is clean and warm and the food is very good. All in all, great!

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a great stay in this lovely B & B. The house, hostess and location were terrific. Located on the longest Promenade in Ireland, the house is close by to City centre and is a great base to many local attractions. Breakfast was lovely and the rooms very peaceful. We would definitely recommend a stay. Thanks Margaret for making our stay so enjoyable.
John-paul and Marita x

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#34 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westwinds
Westwinds
#60 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Periwinkle Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dun Roamin
Dun Roamin
#69 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arus Grattan Apartments
Arus Grattan Apartments
#16 of 51 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawndale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawndale B&B

Property: Lawndale B&B
Address: Lawndale 5 Grattan Road Beach Court | Lower Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lawndale B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing