We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real céad míle fáilte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #82 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A real céad míle fáilte”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful night here whilst visiting my relatives in the area. Marian made us most welcome, room was spotless, and excellent breakfast. Oranmore has lots of pubs and restaurants within walking distance, but we ended up meeting my cousin for a swift pint or two and a cheese toastie at the Maldron Hotel which is a 2 minute walk away. This has a leisure centre with pool, though we did not try these. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikefromsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Marian took us in late in the evening and a last minute booking. She was kind, welcoming, considerate and the place was so clean and warm. The breakfast she cooked was delicious and provided us with many pamphlets on things to do and see throughout Ireland. She made us feel like family. Great home base to visit the sites! THANK YOU! Look forward to coming back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coprtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, our hostess, Marian, was the most pleasant, and sweetest person throughout our journey in Ireland. We were the only guests at her house, and it afforded very nice chatter with her. We did not want to leave if for only her company!! The establishment itself is also very nice. The rooms are large and well decorated. The bathroom had hot and cold water with no problem. The breakfast was fantastic. Overall, I highly recommend anyone going to Galway area to stay with Marian here. And if you're not in Galway, by all means, GO!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay WI
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Very good room, very good breakfast and Marian was very friendly and helpful in getting directions and making dinner reccommendations. It was winter in Ireland the day we were there so our room was cold but Marian made up for it with her warm personality. I would stay there again

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RamblingBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Marian could easily have been the friendliest Irish we met on our trip. My father-in-law vowed to never stay in some ones "house", but after our experience at The Birches, he couldn't wait to return with his father! Very comfortable beds, topped off with a great breakfast. Thank you Marian!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After deciding last minute to come to Galway for a music festival, The Birches was the only B&B with an available room, but we could honestly have not have found a nicer place to stay. The wonderful owner Marion welcomed us with tea and scones upon arrival and was more than helpful in providing details of local public transport into Galway city (a bus is only 5 minute walk away).

As well as this, a taxi back to the B&B later that night was only €17 (£13) from Galway centre which is more than reasonable. The bedrooms were spotless and the whole house had a real homely vibe. The breakfast was delicious and was only made for us once we entered the dining room, meaning it was fresh and hot off the frying pan. And to make it even better, as we were a bit worse for wear the next day, Marion very kindly let us check out a little bit earlier to give us a bit more sleep time!

Despite it's distance from Galway city, the best compliment I can pay The Birches is that if we were to visit Galway again, we would definitely stay at the Birches. Fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here after visiting Galway on the way to the Cliffs of Moher. Great spot close to Galway. Much better than a hotel. Rooms werer spacious and the breakfast was great. Marian was a gracious host - I strongly recommend this great B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
764 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ashbrook House B&B
Ashbrook House B&B
#7 of 9 in Oranmore
21 reviews
9.5 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#14 of 187 in Galway
78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
42 reviews
3.3 mi away
Corrib View B&B
Corrib View B&B
#106 of 187 in Galway
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Birches 10 Carrowmoneash | Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birches Bed and Breakfast in the village of Oranmore County Galway is a friendly family home set on three quarters of an acre of landscaped gardens in a quiet cul-de-sac easily accessible from the N6 and N18 National Routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing