We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #75 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Mons, Hainaut, Belgium
1 review
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here after visiting Galway on the way to the Cliffs of Moher. Great spot close to Galway. Much better than a hotel. Rooms werer spacious and the breakfast was great. Marian was a gracious host - I strongly recommend this great B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I loved staying here and wished we could have stayed a second night. Marian was fantastically friendly and helped us pick a nice place to eat within walking distance of the house and she also called ahead and booked our B&B for the next night for us. We really enjoyed her pancakes (Americans would call them crepes) for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We really had a nice stay here in this bb, one of the best of our experience in Ireland. Marian has welcomed us in a really cozy house, our room was clean and well furnished in a lovely yellow. We had a very nice sleep, the district is really quiet.
What was missing was the city, unfortunately the bb is located in the suburbia 4 km out of town. I didn't really like the surroundings, but we did find a really good Indian restaurant in town called Santoor, winner of some prices as best ethnic restaurant in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahoteroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Marian is a great hostess! She recommended a great Pub for dinner within walking distance in Oranmore. One of the best meals we had on our trip. Marian was also very helpful in suggesting a tour route for the following day which we followed to the tee and we were not disappointed. We came back late in the dark and got a little lost coming back though Galway but it was all part of the adventure. Breakfast was delightful and we swapped great B&B stories as we are B&B hosts in Canada.

The room we had was spacious, very clean and comfortable. we could not have chosen a better place to park ourselves to two nights. I would highly recommend a stay with Marian. thanks Marian for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn_joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was traveling Ireland with my son. We were staying at B&Bs along the way. The Birches is off the main road but very easy to find. We were greeted by the owner and shown to our room promptly. She offered us tea and delivered it to our room while we were settling in. The town of Orenmore was within walking distance and Galway was a 15 minute drive. The room was clean and comfortable. The shower was small but there was a huge bathroom and shower in the hall if you chose to use it. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of items to choose from. The owner( I can't remember her name) was very informative and a pleasure to talk with. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

In a local neighborhood, close enough to Galway. Rooms clean, nice size, bathroom small, but had a hall bathroom that was larger. Hostess very friendly and accomodating, let us check in early and got up early to make us a filling breakfast for our long journey that day. Pleased with our selection.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imthimy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers, France
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Located within 2 mins of main bus stop.
Hourly bus direct to the city centre in under 15 mins.
B&B clean, warm and friendly , breakfast is a huge, keeps you going. Located not far from village, all is quiet and is a welcome break from the noise of the city. Ideal for friends who want to get away and famlies with space for kids to run around in.

C'est tres bonne B&B. C'est ne pas par loin de la bus, la B&B est 2 mins par pied, 15 mins pour la centre ville. Calme, prope avec une tres bonne acceuil. La village est par loin par pied, ideal pour la personne tout seul ou famille, facile a bouge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryfromMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.1 mi away
Shanlin House B+B
Shanlin House B+B
#5 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.2 mi away
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
Anach Cuin Bed & Breakfast
#89 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ashbrook House B&B
Ashbrook House B&B
#7 of 9 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle View House
Castle View House
#3 of 9 in Oranmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.3 mi away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#48 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birches Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birches Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Birches Bed and Breakfast
Address: The Birches 10 Carrowmoneash | Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birches Bed and Breakfast in the village of Oranmore County Galway is a friendly family home set on three quarters of an acre of landscaped gardens in a quiet cul-de-sac easily accessible from the N6 and N18 National Routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Birches Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing