We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: As a family we have lived and worked on Quay street since 1902 and have a long history of looking after customers with Martine having worked in Margaret Mc Donagh fish shop across the road (McDonagh's Seafood Bar) at a very young age. This tradition was passed on to my brother and I, as we too worked with our mother in her restaurant preparing and serving food. Our family tradition and Galway's Great trading ties with other countries have seeped into the bones of our restaurant and greatly influence everything we do. We believe in local Irish produce prepared simply using traditional and modern techniques from home and around the world.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and I had lovely meal here on 4th June. We couldn't fault the food. It was great. We ate here last year when we were in Galway too and the food was gorgeous. Thats why we decided to eat here again and we weren't disappointed.
We were served by Sophie who was very friendly and efficent.
Eat here, you won't be disappointed, great food, great service and a lovely little restaurant in a great locatoion on Quay st

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KilkennyPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    322
    78
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
katie3182
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, great location, but not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went to Martine's at the recommendation of our hotel. The food was just okay, and not work the 90 euros for two people. We were warned against the fixed price menu that offers two courses for 20 euros by some locals we met at a pub prior to dinner. They suggested ordering off the regular menu for the best quality and avoiding seafood. However, there wasn't much variety in the menu so it was difficult to find options that weren't part of the fixed menu. I think pubs are a better option in Galway-- the food isn't great there, but it is at least at better prices. Service wasn't great either. The best part was the patio right on the main drag. Great people watching on a Saturday night with hen and stag parties.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katie3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Easter Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

In Galway on easter holiday decided to return to this restaurant having not been here for almost 5 years to find it has changed ( brilliant before , excellent now !! ) We were greeted by some off the best food and service off any restaurant we have been to in years please keep up the good work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldardmachian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in the best area of Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Galway is not a very attractive city. This pedestrian way is the most pleasant area and this retaurant is a very good address. One evidence is the number of custmers. You will have to wait with a drink at the bar before being seated. The food and especially the fish is excellent. A lot of wines are also available. Service is very good with a lot of smile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
650 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but uneven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Galway is famed for its nightlife, but this is primarily the pub scene: I can't recall ever having a really good meal in Galway.

We tried Oscars which is ranked highly on TA, but there was a 90 minute wait, so we made our way back up to Quay St and decided to try Martines.

There was a nice cosy feel to the restaurant, and we were seated to the front, looking out on the busy street.

We went for the early bird menu, which was reasonable. However it was only later we realised there was a choice of steak cuts for 2/3 people available, by overhearing this option being explained to other customers. This was to be a feature of the meal: very friendly and pleasant service, but erratic in its quality. Delays and errors were a feature of ours and others meals - we didn't mind and were relaxed, although a table near us were getting visibly annoyed.

The food however was nice: rib eye steak nicely done, and the banoffee dessert was delicious without being too heavy. A nice Rioja wine also. Bill for two was €62.

So while perfectly enjoyable, the search for the great Galway meal continues.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing