We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere! Delicious baked cod. good service”

Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: As a family we have lived and worked on Quay street since 1902 and have a long history of looking after customers with Martine having worked in Margaret Mc Donagh fish shop across the road (McDonagh's Seafood Bar) at a very young age. This tradition was passed on to my brother and I, as we too worked with our mother in her restaurant preparing and serving food. Our family tradition and Galway's Great trading ties with other countries have seeped into the bones of our restaurant and greatly influence everything we do. We believe in local Irish produce prepared simply using traditional and modern techniques from home and around the world.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere! Delicious baked cod. good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Despite not having made a reservation we choose Martine's. Enjoyed the atmosphere and a glass of wine at the downstairs bar while we waited for a table. Only waited ten to fifteen minutes. We both choose the two course special -19 Euros. The baked cod was deliciously cooked. We had excellent service from the upstairs barman!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    322
    78
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
An Daingean, Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the early bird 2 courses for €20, the food was fabulous and excellent value. The staff were so helpful and efficient. It was a lovely evening on Friday night of race week, one of the busiest weeks of the year but they still could produce good food and super service all in there stride.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good restaurant in the heart of Galway.
It offers an early bird menu at any hour, really convenient.
You can eat both good fish and good meat dishes.
recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food ! great service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My first time ever in this restaurant and it will not be the last what a fantastic place. Great menu with great choice super atmosphere and the staff are really friendly. My steak was over cooked and nothing was a bother to them to change it considering they were run off there feet. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. I work in the industry myself and its a tough job but you all do it fantastic keep up the good work guys hope to return again on my next visit to Galway

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aines01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best in Galway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Martine's came recommended by the woman who ran our B&B. We thought we wanted something more casual, but we were wrong! The ambiance was lovely. It was a long, leisurely evening, which was fine with us. I had a fish called "plaice," which I'd never heard of. Absolutely delicious and paired with an asparagus risotto. We were too full for dessert, sadly. What I don't understand is how our food (which was prepared upstairs? downstairs? and delivered via dumbwaiter) arrived at our table so perfectly piping hot. They have it down to an art.

Martine herself even came by our table to make sure everything was okay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordnShumway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Martine's Quay Street Wine Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing