We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super getaway in top class b+b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aaron House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron House B&B
Ranked #169 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
cork
1 review
“super getaway in top class b+b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

i recently stayed in the aaron house and found my stay there to be most enjoyable. this is a great family run business with great character and very accommadating staff who dealt with my every request in a professional manner.i was in the b+b on the night of the so called (drug raid/bust,) i was one of the people in the room of this situation,to be honest the whole thing was blown way out of proportion,we had a smoke off a joint and then went to sleep,next thing we hear our door been broken down by the guards, we were totaly shocked at this.we explained to the guards that we had smoked a joint and thats all that went on and that there was no volumes of drugs on us or in the room. we owned up to guards that we had 2euro worth of cannabis and thats all.they were very pleased we fully complied with them and were honest about the situation. they apologised to us for making such a big deal about it,we said we understood that they had a job to do and had to follow up on the complaint. the head guard in charge actually laughed at how little drugs was found, honestly the man and his girlfriend who made complaint were totaly insane in what they said to gardai on phone and what they said to the owners of the b+b.they really made a mountain out of a mole hill,and further more made a fool ot of themselves inthe process and the aftermath of it. i personally spoke with some of the guests the following morning to make sure that they were ok,the response they gave me was positive and all of them said they really enjoyed there stay at this b+b and that they would be back again to stay another time.i myself will be staying here again,the owners and there son are marvelous people to deal with and run a very tight ship with there b+b and there customer service is second to none.great time i had and great place to stay and eat.looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    27
    23
    25
See reviews for
21
37
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent the most enjoyable three days holiday in Galway while staying here. I stayed there for three days through the previously referredn to drug scandal and I have tho say the first review written on it was a disgruntled person making a mountain out of a mole hill. The police were exaggerated in there actions due to an exaggerated claim made by another man staying in the B&B. The ownera and their son were nothing but incredibly understanding and exceptionally accomodating about the whole affair when it was brought to light. They were extremely apologetic and were trying to do all they could to calm the situation and explain it to the other residents. One man was being aggresive towards the owners when he woke and this is why he was asked to leave. There is no reason for anyone not to stay here. It is a great place, run by friendly people within minutes of Galway City. A lovely spot and the breakfast was out of this world. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've not stayed at b&b before, but this was definetley better than some 3 star hotels I have stayed in. The towels and bedding all looked relatively new or well kept, the tv although an older style had sufficient channels. It's not five star, but like inner beauty, the charm is about the friendly experience provided by the owner, than the great size of rooms.
Would like to see communal fridges so one can have a cold drink in the night if they so choose. Other than that, would highly recommend this b&b again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I also stayed in the b and b the night the garda were there. I was staying in the room in question with three of my friends and yes they were smoking a joint so there was a smell. The Garda got a phone call from another customer who blew the whole thing out of proportion and said it was a "Drug House". They arrived on the scene expecting a huge raid and broke down the door. We were not arrested they simply searched the room and asked anyone if they had anything on them. Someone then owned up to having 2 euros worth of cannabis and the garda laughed and were totally fine, nobody has been charged and everything was ok with them. they realised the caller had blown the situation out of proportion. We offered our sincerest apologies to the owners and their son who were lovely and we offered to pay for the door. we had stayed there three nights and found it a fantastic spot, being so close to eyre square. the owners were very helpful and the rooms were comfortable and perfect for our stay. Unfortunately the situation was blown out of proportion but it has been rectified and the garda were also understanding of the situation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roisin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here recently and had the worst experience of my life. I got back from a nice dinner to a strong and very obvious smell of drugs, so my boyfriend phoned the owner of the B & B (the wicked witch doesn't live at the house), and explained the situation, she told him "so what, what do you want me to do about it?" He explained to her that we paid 89euro for the room and do not expect the smell of drugs and that he would ring the police if she didnt take action, she replied "go on, they wont do anything". Little did she think that he would ring the police, they were very efficient and came round within minutes. They too could smell drugs, so they got a warrant to search the place. Unsurprisingly, they found quantities of drugs in the room upstairs, after banging down the door and drilling all the cupboards off the wall. When this all finished, around 4am, the police told us to get some rest and they would contact the owner at 7am. In the morning, we went down to speak to the owner, she acted oblivious to the situation, and told my boyfriend he was 'mental' and asked him to get off her property. He refused to leave, after all we had paid for the accommodation until 11am and it was only 8am. Then the owner's husband arrived and called my boyfriend '[--] touched'. As well as the son arriving, who asked "can we not sleep with the smell of a joint". Overall, was horrible. I had 6 friends just about to book there for September when they visit Galway and have told them it would be the worst thing they could do, so now they are going to another one a few doors down. Dont ever stay here. Another bed and breakfast down the road also told us that the owners have a bad background relating to drugs - please avoid!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena B, Owner at Aaron House B&B, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We normally don’t respond to reviews as everyone is entitled to their opinion but we feel that we must contest this as it is complete slander against us and full of inaccuracies. As there were no witnesses to the conversation between your boyfriend and the owner, we will not repeat what was said. Suffice to say, the only reason the owner didn’t go over to the B&B (the owners live next door) was because of the manner in which your boyfriend spoke to the owner. Instead, the owners got up and checked the cameras and stayed up for an hour. As there was no movement in the house and no one else rang to express concern, the owners went back to bed.

The following morning, you did not come down at 8am, as this is when we start breakfast and the dining room is usually empty. You came down at closer to 9am when the dining room was half full and you didn’t speak to the owner, you spoke to a member of staff who was oblivious to the situation. Your boyfriend asked the member of staff if she knew what had gone on in the house the night before and she said no. He then very aggressively proceeded to announce that there was drugs in the house and he wasn’t happy as his wife was three months pregnant. When the staff member had no idea of what he was talking about, he stormed into the dining room, waving his arms and loudly declaring that there was drugs in the house.

The staff member asked him to calm down and come out of the dining room as he was upsetting the other guests and he declared that they had a right to know what was happening. He was being very loud and intimidating and the staff member told him that if he didn’t calm down he would be asked to leave. He said that he had every right to be here as he had paid for the room for the night and he was told that he had every right to be here until management refused him that right and if he didn’t calm down, he would be asked to leave.

Eventually he agreed to come into reception until the police came and sorted out the situation. The staff member asked both him and you to take a seat and both refused. The staff member said it would be better for a pregnant woman to take a seat while waiting but neither of you would sit down and chose to stand in the doorway of reception. The staff member went up to the room at the centre of the controversy and asked the guests in the room what was going on. The door had been forced in (no cupboards had been drilled off the wall) and the guests said the police had broke down the door looking for drugs, hadn’t found any and left. As all the guests were in the room and no one had been arrested, the staff member only had their word to go on. When the staff member relayed this to you are your boyfriend, she was told that she was lying. She pointed out that all she was doing was repeating what she was told and until the police came, there was nothing more she could do.

After the police came and spoke to both the owners and yourselves, you then had breakfast. However, you didn’t eat the breakfast and left without saying a word so the matter was left unresolved. Had you stayed and talked the situation through, we could have explained that the guests in the room in question admitted they had smoked a joint to the police but under no circumstances had the hash been provided by us. We do not condone drug use (even smoking is banned) and it is completely untrue that we have a reputation with drugs. We have been in business for over forty years and have run Public Houses, nightclubs and hostels and we have never had any complaints with drugs. Should you or anyone else wish to confirm this, please contact Millstreet Garda station in Galway on +353 91 538 000.

While it is your right to express that you had a bad experience staying in our B&B, it is completely unfair to make out that we run some sort of drugs den. We would like to point out that no other guest had any complaint with us and in fact many left their contact details after they were shocked at your boyfriend’s outburst in the dining room. One couple who were on the same floor as the room in question enjoyed their three night stay so much that they stayed an extra night. If Aaron House was indeed a drug house run by rude and incompetent people, I doubt they would have stayed one more night, never mind extra nights. It is unfortunate that your friends will not be staying with us in September, as if they did, they would see that clearly we are not a drugs house and simply a family run B&B with friendly and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galway hotels

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 2 nights during the Volvo Ocean Race weekend so paid well over the odds (like any B&B in Galway that weekend). The location was excellent, only 5 minutes into town and 10 minutes to the marina and with free parking (you may need to leave your car keys with them though as they do need to shuffle them around when it's busy). The hotel was rather tired looking and could do with new carpets. Our room was very small and the bathroom was so tiny, it was difficult to dry off after having a shower and there was no soap in the dispenser. Having said that, the bed was comfortable and we slept fairly well and the hosts were friendly. Breakfast was OK but I'd personally look elsewhere if I was to visit Galway again.

Room Tip: Rooms B & C were very small - try to avoid these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We too were here for a night as part of a Paddywagon Tour. The B&B - a converted residence - is on a main road along with a string of other B&B's and is a short walk from the heart of town. We found the place homey and quiet - even in the morning when one might expect heavier traffic on the road. We slept well. The room, while spatan and a bit cramped, was on the second floor at the front of the house with a large bay window overlooking the street. It had one double bed and another bed in a corner. There was a small corner shelf with an electric kettle, 2 cups, tea bags, instant coffee & sugar - but nothing to stir things with. The bathroom, small & clean, was just behind that. I fell in love with the Tiffany style lamp in the dining area. The breakfast was standard but I liked the way my scrambled eggs arrived. It was ok, but not the most charming place we stayed in.

Room Tip: For a budget accomodation it was quite acceptable. Try to get the room with the front bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Copper Beech Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#19 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardawn House
Ardawn House
#17 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron House B&B

Property: Aaron House B&B
Address: Aaron House 25 College Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly A Aaron B & B)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aaron House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aaron House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing