We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to love, hard to leave, impossible to forget”
Review of The Anglers Return

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in County Galway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anglers Return
Ranked #201 of 424 County Galway B&B and Inns
London Crete
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Easy to love, hard to leave, impossible to forget”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was supposed to be a one night stand on a tour of Ireland, but my friend and I fell in love with the house, the area and the owner and ended up staying for the rest of our visit. Why drive around looking for the perfect place when you've already found it?
I do regret not seeing more of Ireland, but I can't believe that anywhere could have been more beautiful than Connemara, nor more comfortable and welcoming than the Angler's Return. The garden was lovely (swimming in the adjacent lough was magical) the bedrooms charming and the communal rooms tasteful and interesting, much like the owner herself! Lynn went out of her way to ensure our stay was perfect, and was immensely helpful without ever being intrusive.
Roundstone itself is a quaint but lively village - surely everything you're looking for when visiting the west coast of Ireland - and the surrounding beaches, mountains and loughs would easily justify a second visit...I will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked delightful and comfortable, but our room was on the corner so had two different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kriticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed here over the New Year and had the most amazing, beautiful time. The Anglers Return is set in beautiful Irish countryside with a view at the front over a lake which is visible from front facing rooms. The interiors of the house are so beautifully done, totally in keeping with the style of the huge stone farmhouse - warm, authentic, tasteful with a little touch of the eccentric. I have never slept as well as I slept at the Anglers Return.
Lynn the proprietor and Bonnie the sheepdog make you feel incredibly welcomed. Lynn is as friendly and sociable as can be - the weekly gathering of Irish musicians in the kitchen to play authentic Irish music, arranged by Lynn, was the sort of experience money can't buy. I shall hold on dearly to my memories of my time staying there. Thank you Lynn (and Bonnie too) x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mexico6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Anglers Return over the Christmas period with a few friends. The house itself is beautifully charming: gorgeous views of the neighbouring lake and Connemara countryside, roaring fires and wood-burners, lovely furniture and gorgeously decorated. Everything about our stay there was cosy, warm and great fun. What makes the Anglers Return so great though, is the proprietress Lynn - who does everything to make the stay of her guests just right, and adds so much to the character of the B&B. From making sure our electric blankets had warmed our beds for bedtime, to preparing delicious and made to order breakfasts each morning - she was the perfect host. I'm already planning my return trip in the summer - so I can experience the stunning white sand beaches in (hopefully) warmer weather! Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duleek, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a one-in-a-million place to stay.....
I'm just home after 3 days in the Anglers Return and have to put the experience on the record!
A beautiful period lodge, full of character, lovely unique furniture, log fires and stoves and a very warm welcome from proprietor Lynn.
I was given a choice of 3 bedrooms. All were elegant as well as very comfortable-looking and each was very different to the next. I really had difficulty choosing. I decided to take one without an ensuite.....and that's how I discovered the best bath in Ireland! A big, long cast iron beauty that I luxuriated in after each day's hiking. Bliss.
Although this is a B&B, I was encouraged to hang out as much as I liked, enjoy the sitting room fire and borrow a book if necessary. A cup of tea and cake was also on offer.
There is an old-world feel to the place that tempts you to abandon your plans and just curl-up indoors for the day - it really is a break from your real world. There aren't too many places like this.
Breakfast was delicious, with the emphasis on organic and healthy fare and endless pots of tea. No doubt about it, they seek to please.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This has been my favourite place to stay for many years, and this year was no exception. This is for people who want a genuine experience of real Ireland, not just another hotel or generic B&B. I count this as one of the most beautiful houses and gardens in Ireland; the proprietress has an eye for beauty and style of the old-fashioned, cosy kind that has nearly been lost these days. The breakfasts are healthy and hearty, there are open fires and wood stoves to keep warm and views out over the river or back up over the lovely gardens or looking out on the cobblestone yard where the hens wander during the day. Give me a breakfast of fresh free-range eggs and Lynn's homemade soda bread and granola and fresh fruit and yogurt any day over the greasy meat-laden Irish breakfast on offer at most B&B's. She is the warmest, kindest host imaginable and continues to do wonders with this old house of great character which is a true gem. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: I have, over the years stayed in every room in this house, either with my partner or daughter. I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey-Wol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A lovely quaint guest house but that where it ends. Value for money is appalling.We stayed at the guest house for one night as we were attending a friends wedding at Ballynahinch Castle and they were fully booked.We arrived on the Saturday and literally checked in and changed and set off for the wedding.Our room was cold and we had to share the bathroom down the hall with other guests.The landlady said we could have breakfast at 8.15 the following morning and as we were getting the bus back to Galway she would drop us at canal bridge which was at most 2 miles from the guest house.We arrived down early for breakfast and when it arrived it consisted of 2 rashers an egg and half a tomato.Considering we paid €118 for bed and breakfast I felt this was very poor.Apparently the landlady felt the sausages would have taken too long.I can only imagine thats why we also missed out on black pudding or all the other expected items in a cooked breakfast!! When it came time to check out my husband said he would offer €5 for the lift to the bus.I felt this was generous considering the cost of the one night stay and the very poor breakfast.He said to the landlady to take the €5 and she said "well things are very expensive around here so I'll take €10 if thats ok with you".I was livid but what could I say.She then drove us to the bus stop .It was raining and we had 15 minutes to wait for the bus.She said "Well I suppose I could drop you a little further along to the shop where theres some shelter but thats another 3 miles,oh god what should I do.I feel terrible but I should get back to my other guests" and with that she proceeded to get our bags out of the boot!!! I'm 5 and a half months pregnant and she knew it.Irish hospitality my eye. This woman should have worn a balaclava and then she could have robbed me properly.Absolutely fuming!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eadin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn H, Owner at The Anglers Return, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I am very sad and upset that someone has had such a bad experience here, when I have always worked hard to make guests welcome, comfortable and happy. It matters so much to me - this lovely old period house is my life's work and love, and I want nothing more than to see others enjoy it - I take pride in this. In the many years since I opened as a Bed & Breakfast I have never had a complaint. Quite to the contrary, I have hundreds of repeat guests, many returning happily year after year.

With specific reference to Eadin, I can only say that I very much regret your bad experience and that I am prepared to refund you the money you spent here, even though I do not accept your version of some/most of the incidents you describe.

I do accept that the house might have seemed a little cold, but it is an old Victorian fishing lodge, which is not normally open in December. However, I agreed to open especially to accommodate some of the wedding party and had heaters in every room, and cosy electric blankets on all day & night.

Regarding the car journey - I left the house and other guests, who were not yet down for breakfast, in order to help this couple catch the bus (Canal Bridge 5 miles away, round trip 10 miles) as they had not organised a taxi.
I went out of my way to get them to the bus, if I had not, they would have missed their plane. They were definitely not “thrown out” in the rain. I insisted on taking them to the shop 3 miles further on, but they refused. I was concerned about the other guests waiting for breakfast, but I still wanted to take them further up the road for shelter.

I feel I gave them the best possible attention & service, even worrying about their plane the night before & ensuring that they had checked on bus times.
I did not offer sausages, as there were time constraints to get them to the bus, and I did not want to cause any delay.

All my other reviews speak volumes about The Anglers Return and truly reflect the essence and care that guests receive here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family have been coming to Connemara for more than ten years and this was our second time staying here and we'll be back again. Great food, lovely room and a wonderful welcome. A must for anyone visiting this part of the country who likes something special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these County Galway hotels
8.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
273 reviews
13.7 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
831 reviews
3.4 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ivy Rock House B&B
Ivy Rock House B&B
#5 of 13 in Roundstone
39 reviews
3.4 mi away
Errisbeg Lodge
Errisbeg Lodge
#8 of 13 in Roundstone
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglers Return? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglers Return

Property: The Anglers Return
Address: Toombeola | Roundstone, Connemara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in County Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Derradda Hill, overlooking the famous Ballynahinch River, The Anglers Return was built in the 1800s as a sporting lodge and is now the home of Lynn Hill and her family. The house is a wonderfully peaceful guesthouse enhanced by the log fires and beautiful gardens. Outside, the grounds are highlighted by a profusion of flowers, stone walls, beautiful river views and garden paths. Awarded as one of Bridgestone's "Top 10 Places to Get Away From it All" in 2011, The Anglers Return is a peaceful retreat to rest, relax and enjoy the west of Ireland. Roundstone, a lively picturesque fishing village, with many good restaurants, pubs, traditional irish music, craft shops and galleries, is only 7 minutes away, south-west along the coast road. With wonderful beaches, the coastal area is a delight. Recommended by "McKennas Guides, 100 Best in Ireland", "Alastair Sawday's Special Places" and "Georgina Campbell's Ireland" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anglers Return Ireland/County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing