We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Marine Experience”
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Royal Marine Experience”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 22 days for a work related trip and the sea view rooms are awsome.The staff is very helpful.This Gym is excellent.The location of this hotel is very attractive near Marine road.This place is having few indian restaurants as well to cater indian Menus.Taxis and buses are within 2 minutes walk.You can enjoy ship ferrying near the sea.
Overall great place to stay.

Room Tip: When you visit Dublin best hotel to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYEDtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear inay1234,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your long recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel whilst on business to Dublin. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your long stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel and thank you for commenting on the helpfulness of our staff.

We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    741
    268
    132
    53
See reviews for
430
854
87
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here for a night over the last weekend. We had booked a night through The Irish News breaks and for 35 euro B&B I really wasn't expecting much. After a long days work I arrived at the hotel to be greeted in the reception area by the most beautiful piano playing. Now this is what nights away are all about !! The rest of my party arrived ( mammy nite away) and off we went to see our accommodation for the night. I must say we were not disappointed. Lovely rooms. View left a little to be desired but sure for 35 euros !! We made our way to Hardy's Bar apprehensively I might add after some of the reviews here but we were pleasantly surprised by the reception we received. We had an excellent waitress. Nothing was too much bother to her. We ate and drank here for the next few hours. The food was a little disappointing but other than that couldn't complain. Breakfast even though extremely busy was smoothly run and the food was fine no complaints. Cant wait for my next visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mich867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear mich867,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read your positive review of your experience in the hotel and thank you so much for commenting on the nice reception and stay that you had with us. Thank you for commenting on the service you received in Hardys Bar and please do feel free to contact me here at the hotel with any suggestions you may have where we could improve any aspect of the food served in the hotel.

Thank you for your nice comments about service and food at breakfast time also. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

And they state themselves (hard to find on the web site) - 4 star hotel.
This is the worst experience I ever had.
Generally the room looks pretty nice, as well as the hotel.
But there was a dirt. Lots of.
First when I entered I saw "Strange spots of dirt in the bathroom" - I have stated that to the receptionist and left. When came back several hours later it was cleaned. But I started discovering much more really disgusting things - take a look at the photoes.

In addition to all that I had a really bead experience with internet.
WiFi works only in the hall. In the rooms there is a cable internet only (5€/hour or 10€/24h). So you cannot use WiFi in your room!!!

Room Tip: inspect deeply the rooms before you will go to sleep, even if you are very tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gleb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Gleb123,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your feedback which we have considered very seriously and looked into the matter in depth. I assure you that this is not our normal high standard of housekeeping and we have identified the reason why this occurred and taken corrective action in the most constructive way possible. We are very proud of the standard of accommodation, cleanliness and hygiene that we provide in our hotel and disappointed that our high standards have not been met on this occasion and I apologise for this.

A full roll out of a new WIFI service to each individual guest bedroom is due to be completed by the end of this week, bringing our standard of broadband and WIFI services up to the latest technology available. I was disappointed to note that you did not note the positive aspects of your stay in the hotel in your review on Trip Advisor, that you noted to us directly when addressing your feedback with us directly. Thank you for these comments also.

I do hope that you will consider coming back to us again in the future and please be assured that we do have a very high standard of cleanliness and hygiene in our bedrooms and constructive corrective action has been taken with regards to your feedback.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We loved Dun Laoghaire. It was only 20 minutes by train from central Dublin, and we were actually glad to be staying out in a smaller town...a little underwhelmed by Dublin itself. The Royal Marine Hotel is located on the water with GORGEOUS views of the harbor and magnificent rooms. Huge comfortable beds, a HUGE high end hotel with a really luxurious feel, but with very good prices. We paid 80 euros for one night and had a water view.

Also, Dun Laoghaire is a great town! Great food, coffee, nice folks, and make sure you take a walk on the pier and breathe in some fresh northern Atlantic air.

For those looking for an easy overnight from Dublin Airport, let it be known that the airport shuttle stops right in the driveway of the hotel, another reason why we chose it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Maggie H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read your positive comments on the hotel and the location and thank for you highligting all of the positive aspects of your stay with us here in the hotel. We do feel that we offer an alternative to staying in the city centre but yet it is within easy reach with the many rail and bus links. Thank you also for highligting the excellent Aircoach service which operates hourly to and from the hotel.

We hope that you will have another opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel. We had an executive room. Very spacious and clean. Beds were incredibly comfortable. We got a deal for 149euro B&B(executive room) and dinner for 2. Wouldn't eat there again. Early bird menu was very restricted. Food wasn't nice. Neither of us liked our dinner. Good selection of wines available. Great location. Across from Dart station. Some people may be put off by the construction site in front of the hotel. Personally it didn't bother us. Our room was looking out onto a multi-storey car park. Staff were fabulous and probably their best asset. Really friendly and helpful. Overall a great hotel minus the food!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay any extra for a seaview room that has a high rise construction site between the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear sunag,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read your positive comments on the hotel and thank you for highligting the comfort of your bedroom as you have described it. Our Early Bird menu does offer less choice than our normal menu, however the dishes are drawn from the regular menu in the restaurant. I would be very interested to know exaactly why you did not enjoy your meal with us if you would like to email me directly at aryan@royalmarine.ie. We always use guest feedback to improve on what we do and guide on how we design our menus.

Thank you for highlighting the excellence of the staff and for commenting that they are the hotels best asset. I would certainly agree with this and thank you sinceraly for this comment.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliot
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The room was clean and . All of the staff were friendly and helpful; Great location for walking. Great breakfast in the morning. We stayed as part of a tour or Ireland with CIE tours. It was just a short walk to Dublin Bay, which was beautiful. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear AnneMarieL,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments in this regard.

Thank you also for highlighting the efforts of our hard working staff and for commenting on the friendliness and helpfulness of our team.

We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

A once great hotel has been brought low by low quality finishing/blending with what little is left of the hotel grounds. The much lauded view of the bay is in fact a narrow sliver framed by a shoddy apartment development on one side and an enormous construction project on the other.

The fabric of the hotel while slightly worn is still a wonderful experience (though some double glazing at the sea facing front of the old central part of the hotel would not go amiss).

It is all however let down by the staff - almost all from overseas and many with poor English - unable to help with even relatively minor queries. I'd certainly go back - but only when I know that I will be dealing with Irish staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Pat M,

Than you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, yet disappointed to read your comments about our staff.

All staff recruited for our front of house positions have very good english and would not be permitted to work in these positions if this was not the case. I would be interested to know why you felt any member of members of staff were not able to deal with your queries and would be grateful if you could contact me personally about this here at the hotel on 012300030 or on email at aryan@royalmarine.ie.

We receive a lot of compliments about our hard working staff every day and I am very proud of the efforts that our staff go to on a daily basis to look after our guests in the hotel. Our recruitment policies ensure that we recruit the best people for the customer service roles that we have and this is backed up with daily training in each department of the hotel. We also encourage our staff to use their own personalities when interacting with guests whilst retaining a professional and respectful approach that one should expect.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
2.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,580 reviews
5.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Property: Royal Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and a favourite with the locals, this landmark Hotel is an impressive sight on the Dun Laoghaire skyline. Since 1828, a Dublin Hotel has occupied the site now occupied by the Royal Marine Hotel. With 228 Bedrooms, 14 Dedicated Meeting Rooms and a Conference Centre as well as The Pier Health Club and sananaSPA; the Royal Marine Hotel has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine dún Laoghaire
Hotel Royal Marine
Royal Marine Hotel Dublin
Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing