We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Royal Marine for four nights in late October. The location is superb (shame about the large crane in front but we knew about that in advance) and the views all around the Bay are wonderful. Great for walks along the coast. We were part of a wedding group and the wedding meal was excellent. Our room was very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was pretty good but the downside was that the waiters did not clear tables quickly enough. You had to juggle used dishes and the tables were very small. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtreacy96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear mtreacy96,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you visted us for four nights for the occasion of a wedding and thank you so much for your comments on the hotel and on the wedding meal itself.

Thank you also for highlighting your feedback on our breakfast service which we will use constructively in the ongoing training of our staff.

I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    715
    250
    125
    47
See reviews for
412
823
86
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Sunday Lunch from the Bar Menu - Specials and a la carte menu, with Kids menu, pretty good food, served hot with coeliac option. Great service and above all great value, 5 adult meals, 2 desserts, 3 coffees and a pint for under €100. Very busy but never delayed, relaxed atmosphere and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear voproductions,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to the hotel for Sunday lunch from our bar menu. Thank you for highlighting the value for money and quality of food and service in our bar and I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 4 times during 2012 and have already booked another few business stays. Having tried many South Dublin hotels, the Royal Marine is now one of my favourites.

The location is perfect and it's convenient to the bus and train links. There's free parking (unlike some Dublin hotels) and if you like going out for a walk or a meal in the evenings, there are plenty of options.

The rooms are modern and spacious, with comfortable beds and free internet. Breakfast is good and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. All in all, the hotel is an excellent blend of traditional splendour and modern amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NualaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear NualaO,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of some of your recent stays at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that we have become one of your favourite hotels in South Dublin following your recent stays with us.

I was also happy to read that you will be visiting us again whilst you are on business in the area.

Thank you for all of your positive comments on the hotel and on our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

A lovely Victorian hotel, which still retains its character. Had a 2 night spa break which included one evening meal. Lovely setting overlooking the harbour, though there is building work going on which I hope doesn't obscure the view. As a deal, assume we got the budget room, but it was spacious and very pleasant with great bed. Breakfast was the usual buffet, but fine. Enjoyed the free seaweed massage. Only complaint was that spa was closed on Tuesday, our only full day there.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Ruth J,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the many aspects of your stay with and I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon in Dun Laoghaire.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for a Spa week-end recently. €288 total for 2 people for 2 nights B&B, evening meal & a treatment each (via their website). Room was very comfortable-beds fabulous with the essence of comfort! Beautiful linen, with extra large pillows!

The Thermal spa is beautiful. We made use of it before our treatments. Very relaxing & staff very helpful and friendly. We upgraded our treatments that morning & paid the difference. The spa is quite busy, so you need to book your treatmnts before arrival for a Saturday.

The meal in the restraunt on the Saturday night was beautiful. Service was very swift & unintrusive. Very friendly waiters.

The breakfast both mornings was fabulous. All the usual fare, with good standard. Only comment to make, is the breakfast buffet area is a little small and causes congestion being so close to the restraunt enterance during busy periods. Plenty of helpful waiters during this busy event-tea & toast all served promptly on arrival! The hotel was quite busy with a wedding that w-e, but it did not interfere with our Spa w-e stay.

Location is superb, with easy access to Dun Laoire and the City centre.

Looking forward to a return visit!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananaloaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Bananaloaf,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay in the hotel during your visit and thank you for your positive remarks on all of the hotel facilities, the service and our friendly staff.

I look forward to sharing all of your feedback with our hardworking team and thank you for sharing it with us.

I hope that you will have an opporttunity to visit us again soon in Dun Laoghaire.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I travel for business to Ireland several times a year and almost always stay at the Royal Marine Hotel in Dun Laoghaire. The hotel is extremely comfortable (some of the nicest hotel beds anywhere) and the staff is very friendly. The location in Dun Laoghaire is very relaxing, overlooking the sea, it is near a number of nice restaurants and the pier. I just tried the spa for the first time my last visit and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Liza N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel facilities and our staff and I was delighted to read that you had the opportunity to visit and use our wonderful sansanaSPA on this occasion too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my brother and elderly mum who is wheelchair bound asked for a late checkout charge of 20 euro room service charge 6 euro lift access is pedantic our pass to our floor didn't work other guest were quite rude when we were trieing to get to the wheelchair ramp which is tucked away in the corner of the lounge.
Some guest appear to be a little bit up themselves with regards to wheelchair users and the elderly
The rooms are a little small and dark the bed was fantastic best sleep ever
The shower wasnt powerful it resembled a trickle

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiematumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear susiematumbai,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you were dissappointed with the charges that were applied for the late checkout and the tray charge for room service, however such charges are necessary and always advised to our guests in advance. The ramp access to the hotel is located adjacent to the main front door so that guests entering the hotel may readily identify this access which brings all guests entering the hotel directly into the main reception of the hotel.

I cannot comment of the percieved attitude of other guests in the hotel towards wheelchair users and the elderly that you mention, however I believe that my staff and I treat all guests with respect and dignity they deserve and I have often witnessed similar interactions between guests of all ages and abilities in many areas of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had the best sleep ever in the hotel beds that we provide and I would be delighted to discuss any other aspect of your stay with you directly if you so wish. I can be contacted at the hotel directly or by email at aryan@royalmarine.ie.

I hope that you and your family will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
6.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Property: Royal Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and a favourite with the locals, this landmark Hotel is an impressive sight on the Dun Laoghaire skyline. Since 1828, a Dublin Hotel has occupied the site now occupied by the Royal Marine Hotel. With 228 Bedrooms, 14 Dedicated Meeting Rooms and a Conference Centre as well as The Pier Health Club and sananaSPA; the Royal Marine Hotel has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine dún Laoghaire
Hotel Royal Marine
Royal Marine Hotel Dublin
Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing