We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub in Dublin!”
Review of Gilbert and Wright

Gilbert and Wright
Ranked #22 of 89 Restaurants in Dun Laoghaire
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Best pub in Dublin!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is by far my favourite spot to go out in Dublin...whether it is just meeting a small group of friends, a night out or a quiet drink with a date...this place has it all. It is cosy with comfy couches and old school decor.There is something on every night of the week with my favourite being the live music on a Thursday and saturday and the open mic on a sunday...some great mixes of music for everyones ear. The staff were ever helpful and friendly making the atmosphere even more homely. They also serve delicious thai food to really mean you never have to leave....if I could make this place my living room I would!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t-ravers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great atmosphere. The pub has character.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great atmosphere. The pub has character, old battered leather sofas and 60s furnishings. A lot of different functions going on. We had a good evening here. I couldn't find a loo until a girl pointed out that they were upstairs and ONLY upstairs, they lose a mark for that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlykale3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool Retro Pub”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This pub is just a bit different to the norm, decorated in a cool "retro" style with 60's wallpapers and mixed style comfy couches, good range of drinks and good music on weekend evenings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny040404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Gilbert & Wright is a traditional pub near the Dun Laoghaire Dart Station.
On weekends you can find lovely live music. There is a variety of drinks for every taste. If you go there you have to try the Hot Passion cocktail. It is good value.
Also, there is free Wi-Fi.
The atmosphere is very irish and the seats are comfortable. The mixture of clientele is good. Upstairs it is less loud and you are able to talk well with each other.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Simply a brilliant spot!! We love it and socialise about 3 times a month there. They have movie nights during the week. only negative is it needs a spruce up .Recommended :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feeder9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert and Wright also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Been to Gilbert and Wright? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing