We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite walk..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dun Laoghaire Harbour

Dun Laoghaire Harbour
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.77*
and up
Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dun Laoghaire Harbour is a much-valued public amenity used by thousands of people each day for exercising and sight-seeing as well as the facilities provided for the sailing and yachting communities. The harbour is developed and maintained by the Dun Laoghaire Harbour Company who have a masterplan for the future development for the harbour believing that it can become a marine and leisure tourism destination of international calibre.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite walk..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I love going for a walk on this harbour on a warm evening, when the sun's going down.. It can be quite relaxing and it's nice to see all the boats and waves.. I like to walk along the outside near the rocks, sit down and just enjoy the view.. :) Also it can be a nice walk for kids too, especially if the ice cream van is down by the lighthouse!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Meleesa57d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    115
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I liked here that you get a great view, especially if you're lucky enough to have some sun. Great to take pictures and enjoy a nice cup of tea or coffee at the sea side. There is a bus that goes right there from Dublin City Centre and also a train station.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad weather means great waves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This harbour is at it's best when it's windy and the waves and blasting against the outer walls.. if you like watching the power of the ocean, this is it...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Icarusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful for a walk. Beautiful scenery, relaxing and so quaint. Have walked both the east and west pier now and their both lovely. Will be stopping by again soon for a walk

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElleBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for nice long scenic walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Dun Laoghaire East Pier is a favorite walk of mine. I frequently take the dart out to Dun Laoghaire and visit the sunday markets at people park and then enjoy a stroll down the pier. It is a nice distance where you feel like you got a little bit of exercise and you have great beautiful views of sailboats, the Irish Sea and Howth in the distance.

I think there is a small coffee shop or ice cream shop under the lighthouse, but I have not tried it yet. I will need to visit and report back. Although you could argue that the ice cream could counter act the exercise from the walk there. I guess you always have the walk back to catch up though!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSL_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dun Laoghaire Harbour also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Dun Laoghaire Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing