We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun food”
Review of The Hen House - CLOSED

The Hen House
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fun food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Love the name and went for a girls night - we were so well looked after and the food was great, lots of chicken but other nice stuff as well, on the seafront in Dun Laoghaire so would be nice to sit outside in the summer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denny040404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    80
    40
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited The Hen House on Saturday night last. It was a return visit as we had been there previously a couple of months back. On the first visit we chose from the regular menu. It was excellent and when we were in Dun Laoghaire the other night we were both happy to visit again.
This time we chose from the Early Bird menu. I think it was about €20 a head (maybe a little less) for 3 courses and we also had a bottle of wine.
The restaurant itself is beautiful - very well laid out, warm and inviting, nice music playing, etc. The staff were friendly and efficient. The Early Bird menu was a little limited perhaps, but what we ordered was excellent, and served quickly.
The staff were great. Service and a smile - what more could you ask?
Overall, very good value for money, fantastic location (so close to the Pavilion Theatre), lovely staff and we will certainly return.
As I said, the Early Bird menu was a little limited imo. If I could I would give this restaurant 4.5 stars. Well Done :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A good early bird meal”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our meal - calamari was excellent. Our main courses were excellent too. Good value for money. Staff helpful efficient and friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited the hen house on a Sunday evening with two friends. The location was fantastic as was the decor of the restaurant. The staff was brilliant and extremely friendly. For starters we all ordered the "fiery hot" chicken wings. These were very mild and should not have been advertised as fiery hot! The wings had a great coating which was very crunchy. For mains we ordered the Malaysian curry, chicken Caesar said and the hen house chicken. The presentation of the food was great, as it came to the table looked very appetising. The taste of the food was so poor! It was really bland and was lacking flavour. It was so disappointing. We ordered dessert and had the cheese cake and brownie. The brownie was delicious! The cheesecake was inedible, the base of the cheesecake was so solid that the spoon couldn't break through it! I really would not return to this restaurant as the food tastes like cafe food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Than87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotr_Fyda, General Manager at The Hen House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Firstly we are very surprised at all our food not being tasty, thats a first for us.
Also, we don not sell Brownies or Cheesecake.
Perhaps you could be a bit more specific as to what dishes you had in the restaurant on the day you visited and we can look into it. Maybe you tell us the exact date you were here.
We had no other complaints recently about our 'tastless food'.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Dun Laoghaire”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Hen House continues to surpass itself and is for me, a local, really the best place to eat in Dun Laoghaire where we are already spoilt for choice. I had the port belly last week on a fairly quietish Thursday night and it was beyond delicious. The staff are just about the most genuine and friendly of any restaurant in the area. Oh, and the prices are extremely reasonable.

Check out the amazing ciabatta chicken lunch special - it's incredibly tasty and great value at just under a tenner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hen House also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing