We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good early bird meal”
Review of The Hen House - CLOSED

The Hen House
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A good early bird meal”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our meal - calamari was excellent. Our main courses were excellent too. Good value for money. Staff helpful efficient and friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    80
    40
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visited the hen house on a Sunday evening with two friends. The location was fantastic as was the decor of the restaurant. The staff was brilliant and extremely friendly. For starters we all ordered the "fiery hot" chicken wings. These were very mild and should not have been advertised as fiery hot! The wings had a great coating which was very crunchy. For mains we ordered the Malaysian curry, chicken Caesar said and the hen house chicken. The presentation of the food was great, as it came to the table looked very appetising. The taste of the food was so poor! It was really bland and was lacking flavour. It was so disappointing. We ordered dessert and had the cheese cake and brownie. The brownie was delicious! The cheesecake was inedible, the base of the cheesecake was so solid that the spoon couldn't break through it! I really would not return to this restaurant as the food tastes like cafe food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Than87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotr_Fyda, General Manager at The Hen House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Firstly we are very surprised at all our food not being tasty, thats a first for us.
Also, we don not sell Brownies or Cheesecake.
Perhaps you could be a bit more specific as to what dishes you had in the restaurant on the day you visited and we can look into it. Maybe you tell us the exact date you were here.
We had no other complaints recently about our 'tastless food'.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Dun Laoghaire”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Hen House continues to surpass itself and is for me, a local, really the best place to eat in Dun Laoghaire where we are already spoilt for choice. I had the port belly last week on a fairly quietish Thursday night and it was beyond delicious. The staff are just about the most genuine and friendly of any restaurant in the area. Oh, and the prices are extremely reasonable.

Check out the amazing ciabatta chicken lunch special - it's incredibly tasty and great value at just under a tenner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic place!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I brought my mum to the Hen House today for a late lunch and I just wanted to say I couldn;'t praise it more highly! This restaurant has it all, great food, lovely friendly waiting staff and wonderful decor which gives a lovely chilled-out feel to it. We had the soup of hte day, carrott and coriander with homemade bread which was delicious and then we had dessert, mum had the bread and butter pudding which she said was really delicious and I had the yummy Eton Mess! . The standard of the food is excellent as is the presentation but most of all the service. Also the food is very reasonably priced for the quality of the food served. If the Manager of the Hen House is reading this review then I would certainly say you have amazingly friendly and professional staff who greet all their customers with a lovely smile :) (especially on our visit on the afternoon of 11th January) it really does make all the difference in the world... especially as such friendliness is often lacking in many restaurants these days when it is most needed. I would highly recommend the Hen House to everyone, check it out on your next visit to Dun Laoghaire when you're strolling down by Dun Laoghaire pier, you won't be disappointed :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AisDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkey, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The chicken tastes like chicken”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The food is value for money, the only problem is the place is too big and very open, so not good for a quite meal. The chicken tastes like chicken and not like rubber.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DalkeyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hen House also viewed

Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing