We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cranky bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cranky bugs”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions,having returned recently from our last sojourn there,we feel compelled to comment on our experience,and fire a warning shot and some unsolicited advice to hotel management.

The first occasion was very positive about 2011,the 2subsequent stays were progressively more unpleasant,and we will not return there again.The c reason we went was the children liked the pool very much,and the diversity of foods at breakfast.
Some of the staff seemed v nice in particular the cleaning staff and some of the foreign national workers.
The breakfast waiting staff in particular were not so helpful in catering to our needs, in general there was a lack of engagement on behalf of the staff with us the customer, at times in fact we felt a bit of a nuisance rather than a paying client. The breakfast buffet layout was very poor on this trip and staff were very unconcerned when brought to their attention.
The food in the restaurant by nite was good enough. The rooms are good also and the gym/pool is up to scratch. Make sure you check your bill on checkout an extra 100e was added to ours inadvertently.
Advice to management : 1. Send all your staff on an interpersonal skills course.
2. Listen to your customer with some semblance of interest (that's definitely not happening to any major extent at the minute)
3. Make sure your accounts are correct before you present to the client (there is nothing more annoying than this!)

Room Tip: The family rooms are a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    132
    61
    28
    17
See reviews for
92
119
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and checked in very easily and quick. Our rooms were spotless with plenty of room.
We visited the spa for treatments having facials, body scrubs and full body massages and all were absolutly superb. Staff were amazing.
We had dinner in the restaurant from the set menu and it was one of the best dinners I have ever eaten. The selection for a set menu was something you dont see very often, and the food quality and portion sizes were outstanding. Try the banoffe moose for dessert, you will not be dissapointed...
After dinner we went to the bar for the live music. The atmosphere was brilliant with a great crowd and again brilliant staff...
Breakfast was made fresh for every customer, not the usual buffet style with food lying around for ages. Tasty and plenty to choose from...
I would highly recommend this hotel for any age whether staying as a couple, family or group of friends... I;m am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glynnshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It started with the girls on reception, no interest whatsoever in checking us in. Gave is no detail about breakfast time or location. The first girl said oh go to her (pointing to her colleague) she'll do it when we arrived.
The room was very nice though, much bigger than usual hotel rooms.

Breakfast really took the biscuit. On a bank holiday Monday only 1 staff member to clear all the tables, seat patrons, take orders and serve. We were a full half an hour before we received menus. (We decided to just take our own seats as we were waiting so long) The waiters first greeting was a grunt which we guessed to mean to move tables as he walked past us.
We counted 13 uncleared tables full of half finished breakfasts and tea and coffees. They had been sitting there for at least 45 minutes.

We had a few drinks in the bar, served by a little man who seem to take immense pleasure in telling hotel patrons where they could or couldn't have a drink and then laughing behind their backs to the locals.

The pool was nice enough, small, but again the receptionist seemed like she wanted to be anywhere but there, sour puss and disinterested.

It is expensive compared with other hotels and does not deserve the 4 star rating, it is clear the recession has had a major impact on this hotel and they can no longer afford to pay for enough staff to run the place properly, however there is no excuse for the lack of staff at breakfast with 2 receptionists twiddling their thumbs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stierdafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a very comfortable night, reasonable rates, efficient and friendly staff and enjoyable breakfast. The room was clean and well equipped and comfortable bed. Location was good for Dublin and easy to find and park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuegeeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed almost 2 weeks there. Hotel is very clean and rooms are big enough. Staff is friendly. The location is out of D L, 15 mins by bus. 8 mins walk is a small shopping area with coffee shop, Chinese restaurant, pizza take away and Spar supermarket. Pool area is too old, sauna is on 70C degrees. Do not use laundry, I got my shirts back 2 size smaller. Food is edible, but no more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were going to a match in Croke Park and stayed here after the match. Most of the hotels in Dublin were booked out and any that were available were very expensive, so we stayed at the Rochestown Lodge. The room was well priced, good sized and clean. Although it was far out of Dublin city centre, there is a good bus service close to the hotel with a frequent service. At night time there is a bar with music.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARRYMCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have just stayed for 2 nights in this hotel whilst on business in Dun Laoghaire. An ideal practicle hotel for business use, but do not expect the best customer service in the world. There are some good facilities in the hotel, with a gym ,pool, bar.

The breakfast were ok and the evening meal we had in the bar was ok. Again nothing to really shout about here!

My room 328 faced the front and you can hear the pigeons all night and although not the hotels fault, the pedestrian crossing "bleeps" all through the night, very annoying! Especially when it is hot and you have to have the windows open! Overall the hotel was too hot!

The outside area, overlooking to car park, was pleasant apart from all the cigerette buts and smokers. Maybe a seperate area for smokers?

The bed was comfy, no complaints.

Room Tip: Avoid front facing rooms because of that damn pedestrian crossing bleep!! Stayed in 328 and it was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,078 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Beacon
The Beacon
#1 of 2 in Sandyford
1,299 reviews
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,602 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 164 Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire A96 T184, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, HRS, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing