We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay... but consistency would have made it perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Darvel, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay... but consistency would have made it perfect!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We (hubby, 18 month old baby and I) had a very enjoyable three night stay in the Rochestown Hotel. But I would heed all the previous reviews. I would love to say the stay was faultless, as the Hotel is capable of that, but it was it bit upsy downsy?! When it was up the service and food was excellent, when it was down, it was patchy. Our reception was just ok, but once we did get the full attention of the receptionist she was very good, and thereafter any queries helpfully handled. We had chosen to upgrade to an Executive room for our stay for an extra 10 euros a night. Pleased we did. The room was spacious and the bed big, comfy and made for a great trampoline for the baby!

We lunched on our arrival, which came down to expediency really as I had read the menu on-line before travelling and wasn’t particularly inspired by it, but we had family and friends coming to meet and join us. When the food arrived it was so much better than the menu suggested. For that reason we chose to eat in the bar / bistro the next evening with friends. This time the food was a real let down and the service even worse. On raising this we were informed we should have said before we started our meal.... but we didn’t see any of the waiting staff until at least 45 minutes after we had finished our meal – being a slow eater this must have been about an hour and a half after our meals arrived. I was embarrassed I had recommended eating here. Our package included a one night meal that we had planned for our final evening. I was really not looking forward to that, but it was a truly exception meal, in the restaurant this time, with attentive and understanding service (baby was more interested in making a mess and exploring than sitting in her chair so hubby and I had to take turns respectively eating and chasing baby).

A highlight for me was the use of the pool. Baby’s first introduction to an indoor pool with all the smells and noises was a joy, and when we returned the next day we even got as far as the fourth step! The leisure facilities appear to be well used, staff lovely, although I agree with previous reviews that a deep clean wouldn’t go amiss. Amongst other highlights, the locals added a real fun and lively atmosphere to the bar, and the bar staff were always faultless.... going above and beyond.

Breakfast was very adequate, but nothing to write home about. The value for our three night special package with upgrade was excellent. We would stay again without hesitation.

PS The free water that a previous reviewer referred to was a nice touch, but could we figure out how to open it without a bottle opener?..... maybe we missed something?!

Room Tip: Pleased we upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    128
    57
    27
    17
See reviews for
91
114
17
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

As a coach driver I have stayed in many hotels throughout Ireland,when my wife booked a w/end break I was looking foward to the break, we arrived Fri. Eve,greeted by very poor welcome,seemed the woman couldn't been bothered,sharp n nasty,dinner in the bar was ok,breakfast next morning was very slow,not very many at b.fast- not a good indication! One man on his own to serv everyone,tables not cleaned,when our b.fast arrived the food was floating in grease,I actually soaked it up with my napkin before I started to eat! His attitude was : what do you want,very very disappointed at the whole experience and would highly recommend that anyone whom may be staying,or looking to stay here to look else where! Only good thing is the free wi-fi!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooneyaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend at the Rochestown Lodge and would like to say that it has been one of the most pleasant places I have stayed. The staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpful, especially the bar staf. Had a meal in the restaurant and can honestly say it was absolutey delicious and well worth the money. The room was a good size and very clean and the spa facilities were really good. This was my first trip to Ireland and I can't wait to go back and will definitely be booking the Rochestown again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Firstly want to say im not a negative reviewer (check out my other posts) but i unfortunately hated every minute here.

Having travelled several hundred miles from west Ireland we requested a quiet room. We were allocated a room over the outside smoking terrace were several intoxicated men sang very loudly until gone 1.30am. Heard another individual attempting to change rooms to be informed they'd be charged for both!

Reception area was pleasant and good selection of tourist guides to look through. Bar area fine and modern.

Room was good size but dated. Can't believe it's a 4* hotel. Surely not as the curtains were stained and ripped, body hair was in the bed, the tv remote was missing it's back! And there was a lock missing on one window! Leisure facilities felt dirty and in the morning the breakfast room had cereal and food on the floor. Crockery also unclean.

Reading other reviews we perhaps got a bad day and night at the hotel but for the price we paid I certainly will avoid returning unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriaanne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Traveling as a group, we spent one night at Rochestown Lodge upon arrival from the USA before heading West for a week's travel. Booked rooms at Rochestown Lodge for the following weekend for the ND -v- Navy game. Accomodations, food, service and staff far exceeded our expectations and made us very comfortable. So much so, in fact, we cancelled our final two nights reservation at the Crowne Plaza and stayed put at Rochestown for our final five nights. Many thanks to everyone at Rochestown for the "home away from home" experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pick a room... any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to Dun Laoghaire to visit friend and had to book hotel that we had not previously visited due to normally used hotel being unavailable. Hotel a good distance from Dun Laoghaire itself but easy to drive to once you know route. Room was a good size and very clean. Due to the crowds in Dun Laoghaire we decided to book a table in hotel restaurant. The menu was varied and covered all tastes and the food was absolutely superb and the restaurant staff, despite being extremely busy, were polite and very helpful. Overall experience was excellent and we would recommend hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Wife & I had a week end break in this hotel last week end , A very busy time ,with the american football & the Mayo & Dublin match, All the staff were so nice & helpful ,Catering staff were ran off their feet but still had time to listen , Our shower needed attention Sat morning ,Told Lady at desk & it was repaired on our return Sat evening . Room was spotless ,Got a clean every day, There is no need to be hungry in this hotel ,plenty of good food. Free wi fi ,Will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back ,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipClonmel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,017 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,558 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
#1 of 1 in Leopardstown
1,153 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 164 Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire A96 T184, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Hotwire, LateRooms, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing