We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Wife & I had a week end break in this hotel last week end , A very busy time ,with the american football & the Mayo & Dublin match, All the staff were so nice & helpful ,Catering staff were ran off their feet but still had time to listen , Our shower needed attention Sat morning ,Told Lady at desk & it was repaired on our return Sat evening . Room was spotless ,Got a clean every day, There is no need to be hungry in this hotel ,plenty of good food. Free wi fi ,Will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back ,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipClonmel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 372 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the pool facilities as we had grand children also staying.
We stayed 2 nights.We arrived early on our first day and as the rooms were vacant there was no problem in going straight to our rooms.The facilities are good, the rooms are a good size and very clean.The staff are obliging and friendly.Organisation is weak two instances :-Breakfast on our first day was a bit shambolic due to only 2 staff serving, tables not being cleared not enough cereals out etc.The pool and spa should open at 8.00 on a Saturday I was down there at 0915 all closed up.I chased them up and 10mins later there was someone down there.We had an evening meal and it was good value nothing special about the menu.
We went into Dublin on the LUAS which is a rail system that operates between Cherrywood a mile up the road from the hotel (catch a number 7 bus from opposite the hotel) and terminates on St Stephens Green at the top of Grafton St. The number 7 bus caught on the same side as the hotel will take you into O'Connell St Dublin.You can also catch the DART train from Dunlaioghre the same number 7 bus will take you there.Taxis are reasonable we paid 10 euros from Dun laioghre to the hotel and 24 euros into town for 6 of us.Overall it was good value we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I stay in Dublin regularly and tried this Hotel for a change

It's a little off the beaten track, fine if you're driving and it does seem to be on a bus route too

Staff at check in we're very friendly, rooms were a decent size and very clean. There was bottled water in the room which is something that not all hotels supply, also free wifi and parking I good.

The hotel has a small pool and sauna/steam room, again something that's hard to find in Dublin

The bar is good if a little dark. Food was excellent with lots of specials and the service is good too. Because the hotel is close to a residential area there were a good few locals in so there was a bit more if a buzz about the place than kilroy of hotel bars.

Didn't try the cooked breakfast but the continental one was fine, the breakfast room was a little quiet but that's not a bad thing.

Overall, it would be hard to pass this place by, i couldn't say it wowed me but it's great value for money and there are a good few extras that you don't get in city centre hotels. If the location is ok for you I'd recommend it and I'll certainly be back

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here recently whilst on a business trip, the staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and sufficient (nothing spectacular). The bar meals were better then expected, with generous potions and reasonably priced. Also some of the locals in the bar made for an entertaining evening! I was disappointed with the breakfast, which was pretty stingy for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdh1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

we took friends to this hotel for lunch on monday 27 august , what can i say well not at lot that is good ,we waited nearly one hour we were told there was a funeral party so surely they should have had enough staff to look after all there customers , i ordered soup could not believe the butter came in a small dish which was badly cracked just think a big hotel should have butter in foil packets , we did complain and they did take some money off our bill but not good enough we wont go back again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brizyoc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

NB: I can't vouch for the accommodation, but I've had Sunday dinner here a number of times with my mother over the last month or two.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, although some of them can need a little reminding now and again. I can forgive this, as we sit outside under a canopy and are thus out of sight, so to speak, of the main restaurant area. We do this as they allow us to bring in our little dog - they even bring out meat and bones for her every time.

The food is absolutely superb. They make a truly delicious omelette (not on menu) for my mother, and I have tried the Cod & Chips, the Pasta dish and the Bruschetta, and all have been exceedingly fresh, well cooked and flavoursome - quite a rarity in the Sunday dinner arena!

I have had both the Pear & Almond Tart and the Peach & Custard Crumble and both are just divine - nearly worth going just for the deserts alone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Satyed 2bb1d plus spa teatment bank holiday weekend EUR135pps. Receptionist on check in very friendly & helpful, paid for upgrade to exec room with king bed well worth it, bed very comfortable,bedroom average size, bathroom small but spotless. Had lunch in bar when arrived was lovely and dinner in restaurant 1st ngt, served by waitress called Alona extremely helpful and friendly, set menu excellent choices,big portions & fab food. Breakfast good selection wud have like to see some grilled instead of fried food but that is a personal choice, ate again on restaurant 2nd ngt served again by alona, restaurant was busy both nights for dinner and they could be doing with more staff on but Alona was still extremely helpful & courteous. Had mini facial as part of package very enjoyable also used swimming pool it is small but was noone else at the pool when we were down so was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojo544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,675 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
#1 of 1 in Leopardstown
1,265 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 164 Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire A96 T184, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $107 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing