We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The customer service is a disaster.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
1 review
“The customer service is a disaster.”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Arrived late afternoon we wanted to eat something. The restaurant was busy but still some free tables. We were waiting one hour in the bar for table and further fouty minutes for food. The steaks were overcooked but otherwise the food was OK. There is no floor manager, the
waiters are unprofessional and unorganised just running around like headless chickens. The same is the breakfast all is total disaster. The coffee looks like dishwater, the food is floating in oil. There is no manager to look after the customers or handle their complaints. You could see the disappointment on the costomer's faces. I am chef and I travel a lot but this was so far the worst service
I have seen in my life.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoltanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    126
    56
    27
    17
See reviews for
90
111
17
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This hotel is well located with easy access to the dual carriage way and not far (still too far to walk) from the DART station. Breakfast is OK, but the service very helpful and friendly, just as at the front desk. Car park free, easy access and plenty of space. For the price (less that 100Euro per room per night) this is really a very good hotel for business and to relax.
I asked for a quiet room, and got a nice one facing away from the street (not a great view) but defenetly quiet and great for my needs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

room quite small and pokey overlooking an enclosed courtyard - wifi very patchy, staff suggested using laptop in lobby....

all public and private areas were extremely hot - particularly in the bar. food was good and plentiful in the restaurant although the waiting staff, whilst pleasant got the orders mixed up....twice, drink served in a cracked glass......

ok for an overnight stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy-lied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Had a terrible experience with the staff at this hotel. Tried to complain about it on numerous occasions and when I FINALLY got to speak to the manager, she was the rudest of the lot! It's clear that the standard of service here comes from the top and the owners should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-1977-oct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Myself and husband along with 2 other couples checked into the Rochestown on the 29th Dec for 3 nights. From the get go the staff on Reception couldnt help us enough sugesting places to go and see. The Rooms were extremely comfortable, very relaxing and quiet. Excatly what we needed!!!

New Years Eve we had a excellent evening meal and the waiting staff were so friendly and courteous. The meal was included with our break costing only €135.00 per person all inclusive. We found this to be fantastic value.
We went into the lounge afterwards to join in with the New Years Celebrations and the atmosphere was Great!!! We have already rebooked to return for the Easter Holidays and would without doubt recommend the Rochestown Lodge for a haslefree breakaway!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tracyk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Myself and a group of 11 friends stayed here for a Pamper Weekend which was reported by all as very memorable stay. The Rooms were were lovely and very comfortable. The Facilities in the Leisure Club were first class.

I found the Hotel had a friendly feel to it! Staff in Reception were helpful at all hours of the day and night and there was a friendly atmostphere in both the Bar and Restaurant areas; Both of which I found reasonably priced. The food in the Restaurant was Excellent. I would recommend it to anyone who was staying in the area and wanted a reliable and reasonably priced (also very big portions ) one of our group is a coelic and the staff could not have been more helpful and understanding to assist with her special requirements.

We booked a pamper break which included 2 Nights Bed & Breakfast, Evening Meal and 2 spa treatments each costing only €135.00 per person. we would without doubt recommend the Rochestown Lodge for that special breakaway. thank you again to all the staff for making our stay such an enjoyable one. See you all again soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda186646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed here for the one night pamper package with two of my friends. after a disaster start (were we missed our bus and got on wrong train) we missed our appointments for the spa. when we rang to advise that we wouldn't make the appointments due to a lot of circumstances my friend was greated by a unfriendly beautian on the phone.
this upset us however, when we got to the hotel the girl in the beautians was kind enough to fit us in for the next day, in fairness it was our fault that we missed the appointments but bit of professionalism was needed and appreciated at the time after our really bad day.
i would recommend getting a massage as the spa was amazing!!!
the dinner was lovely and the bar and reception staff was fantastic!
I would recommend this hotel for girly but relaxing night away as it was greathowever, brekkie was a bit greasy!
value for all the stuff you get for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
#1 of 1 in Leopardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 164 Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire A96 T184, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing