We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Windsor Lodge B&B for 2 nights. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is close to the harbor as well as public transportation if you want to go into Dublin or other nearby places. Mary, the owner, is a pleasant and high energy hostess who could alsways take a moment to answer our questions and give us suggestions about where to eat or how to get to various places. She even provided us with bananas for our breakfast on the morning that we had to leave at 5:30 am to drop off our rental car and catch our early flight home from Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you want a place that is quiet, with very easy access to Dublin on the DART and with the sea and many great restaurants close by then Windsor Lodge is for you.
If you had your 'Hotel Inspector' hat on then you will find enough to keep you occupied: there are a number of could do betters but that's not what this is about. Mary is a very welcoming host and they are genuinely trying to improve the rooms. Our bathroom for example had recently been renovated.
Breakfast is fine and they are very flexible about check in times.
NB the only 'left field' issue: they ask for cash so make sure you bring it along with you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Windsor Lodge for two nights as our final place of our three weeks in Ireland before flying out of Dublin Airport. We really enjoyed its location - only a block from the waterfront and within walking distance to many restaurants and shops in Dun Laoghaire - as well as only being a couple of blocks from the DART station for talking a train into Dublin.

Mary was a good and accommodating host. She had things ready for us to have coffee and a continental breakfast on our final morning when we had to leave early for the airport.

Our room and bath was quite nice with two double beds. There is also a comfortable lounge downstairs to watch TV in or access the WIFI.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gckarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have just attended a conference in the CCD in Dublin and opted for a stay in quiet Dun Laighoire. I received a lovely welcome from the owner of Windsor Lodge, Mary, and continued to stay very comfortably there for a week. Just a 20min train ride to Dublin is less than a minutes walk to the train station. Close to beautiful views of the coast line. And ultimately great, warm and friendly service that is very welcome so far from home. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

On our arrival at Windsor Lodge after a very long drive from our three weeks stay in Killarney we found the welcome to be anything but friendly. An American guest opened the door to us and told us the owners were not about. Tony was out the back in the garden and Mary was at the beach, When my husband told her we had two rooms booked for two nights she said she would try to get Tony for us. When Tony arrived he was unsure about the booking and which rooms were allocated to us. Our room was quite small but adequate but the en-suite was extremely small and not very suitable for my wife who was on crutches following foot surgery. Rooms could have been cleaner, very dusty on raditors and skirting in en-suite. There was no towels in the room at all, no milk or tea bags but once Tony was informed of this he did provide everything very quickly. Breakfast was very disappointing, we have stayed in many B&Bs throughout Ireland and have always been offered a full Irish Breakfast but this was far from a full One, no white or black pudding, no mushrooms, or hashbrown or fried bread, no offer of porridge either. When Mary asked us if we all required a cooked breakfast it was as if she really wanted us to say "No thank you" at this she walked off saying "It will be a while then". The next morning Tony served us and his attitude was certainly better but still no full Irish Breakfast.
On a positive note the location is brilliant for the Dart, town and ferry port.
One other point to note is if you are very hungry on arrival at Windsor Lodge do not go to the restaurant on the corner of the Islington Road, we all ordered the fish and chips, which was absolutely lovely, but there was only five chips on each plate, and the extra portion at €2 consisted of the same amount.
Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Staying here was a lovely way to start our time in Ireland. The B&B is in a historic old home; our room was extremely comfortable; beds, duvets and extra wool blankets, our own washroom & shower, thick towels, tv, and a nice view over the back garden towards the old church just around the corner. The B&B is about a block away from the seawall and amazing views of the ocean and lighthouses. Head a block in the other direction and you'll find the DART station to take you right into the heart of Dublin, only about a 20 minute ride. The B&B is also close to a grocers, and to a neighbourhood pub with delicious food and fabulous, friendly, chatty patrons and staff. We were there this past October, when the entire area flooded from days of heavy, constant rain. Mary kindly offered to drive us around Dun Laoghaire to run some errands and keep us from getting soaked, then she did laundry for us when we couldn't get to a laundromat. The B&B offered a warm and comfortable sanctuary away from all the rain, and large umbrellas when we decided to head out anyway. The full Irish fry-up breakfast was filling and on-time. The price was also very reasonable; we paid 60 euro (about $82 Canadian) a night. Next time we're in the Dublin area, we'll look to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Mary and Tony O'Farrell made our first three days in Ireland a memorable experience. From the first moment, we knew that we would be well cared for. The view to the sea from the bay window nook in Room #4, and the quality of the food and attention made it hard to leave. Convenient to DART, excellent restaurants and a walk along the seaside promenade...we will be back, as soon as we can!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Haddington
The Haddington
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
3.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge B&B

Property: Windsor Lodge B&B
Address: 3 Islington Avenue , Sandycove, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Lodge is a fine Victorian home, built circa 1830. It is owned by the O'Farrell family who offer quality accommodation to visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Lodge B&B Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing