We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelling at the last minute”
Review of Haddington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haddington House
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I had to cancel my weekend at this hotel at the last minute due to ill health and the staff were more than helpful and understanding when I called them. They refunded the deposit which they weren't obliged to do and I am very grateful to them.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Petra D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 387 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I had the occasion to stay here on Thursday 13th. I requested a sea view which was granted and the views were spectacular but that is where it ends. We arrived about 6pm to an empty reception desk with the back office door wide open and a clearly disorganised office with shoes and all sorts just thrown around the place. Hotel bar non existent seems to be more of a separate restaurant with bar which could be leased out. However I do have to say the breakfast staff were excellent and it was good. We also dined in the restaurant and found the food amazing. Pizzas were amazing as was the pasta. Would definitely go back to the restaurant. Whilst the room was great the hotel is in need of some TLC.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Perie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is just awful. The staff are ignorant and rude. The bar is non existent its just a couple of stools and hard chairs and that's it. The bar staff in particular were shockingly bad and terribly rude.The breakfast was just terrible very little selection. The bar staff only cater for people having meals and people they know . Its not a friendly and welcoming hotel the staff make you feel very unwelcome and uneasy. Not a place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheCronins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately while the hotel is well situated, the staff are overall unhelpful and borderline rude. Rooms are small and pokey, especially when there are already people in them. Even though the price seemed reasonable, it was actually quite high for what we received - not even willing to part with a cold jug of milk for tea in the morning. Not in a rush back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PeadardeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I was there for a wedding and thought it was great.

Good staff, nice location, worth paying the extra for the sea views, great restaurant (Olivetos), near the pier which is good for a Teddy's ice cream, a bit more character/more intimate than the Royal Marine which is a bit corporate and shiny for my liking - with its chandeliers etc

Mr Peter

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Pedrog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I write this review at 2am in the morning having not slept at all due to loud noises surrounding the hotel. So you have the sound of cars and trains which you could easily believe are in the room with you!!!! You then have the noise of the pub/restaurant which is part of the hotel of which you may as well stay in as you can hear every conversation the customers are having, you get to enjoy the music on loud all night. The worst part is no one warned me, if the reception staff had told me I'd be enjoying the sounds of the street and pub like I was in/on them all night I'd of simply slept on one of the benches outside and saved my money.

The only reason I stayed here is because the Royal Marine Hotel was booked up, next time I'll be booking well in advance.

Shocking!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1984Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston123Dublin, Front Office Manager at Haddington House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. All comments are welcomed. I'm afraid as we are located in a town centre we cannot offer the guarantee of total peace and quiet. We do face onto the coast road but this is not generally a high traffic road after working hours and the train does not run all night. With regard to noise from the restaurant, as I don't know which night exactly you stayed I cannot check regarding this but generally the restaurant/bar runs within normal licensing hours and as we are located in a residential area we have to adhere to this. Did you contact a member of staff to complain or request to be moved to a room in another area of the hotel? Maybe this would have helped the situation. I am disappointed that your experience of the hotel was not satisfactory and do appreciate your position

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

After a truly fantastic stay at TwoRoomsinDublin and a bustling city experience we decided to spend the last night of our short break at the coast at the Kingston Hotel in Dun Laoghaire - as soon as we arrived we knew we had made a poor decision. The receptionist hardly looked up as she informed us that we would have to wait a couple of hours for our room to be ready. Unphased we set off to explore Dun Laoghaire, but were kicking our heels after just an hour! It is a totally souless place with a few tired chain shops and faceless cafes that you could find anywhere. The walk along the quay was nice...we spotted a seal...but with that done there was nothing of note! On checking into our room we were mortified! Yes it was clean (ish) but tired, shabby and totally impersonal...as was the service (or lack of it) at breakfast. There were absolutely no toiletries apart from a wall-mounted anti-bacterial soap (which didn't have anything in it) and a wall-mounted very dilute shampoo. The bath mat was a disposable paper one which absorbed nothing and the bathroom floor soon became a skating rink!! Lumpy pillows, a stained mattress, and a coffee/tea facility that made drinks tasting of plastic completed our 100 Euro per night room! The walls were wafer thin and we were kept awake by the TV in the next room and doors slamming. The corridor to our room smelt badly of cigarette smoke as despite us being in a non smoking room, it was very close to a smoking room! Breakfast was terrible.......cold, congealed baked beans and rubbery eggs that you served, budget white bread for self-making your toast and dreadful coffee!! I would definitely never stay there again, and for that matter visit Dun Laoghaire again!! We got on the DART train and spent the day visiting Greystones in nearbouring Wicklowe instead, which was a welcome retreat!

Room Tip: If you are forced to have to stay here go for a sea view room....at least the view will distract you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Whit20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston123Dublin, Front Office Manager at Haddington House, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. All comments are welcomed. I'm afraid as we are located in a town centre we cannot offer the guarantee of total peace and quiet. We do face onto the coast road but this is not generally a high traffic road after working hours and the train does not run all night. With regard to noise from the restaurant, as I don't know which night exactly you stayed I cannot check regarding this but generally the restaurant/bar runs within normal licensing hours and as we are located in a residential area we have to adhere to this. Did you contact a member of staff to complain or request to be moved to a room in another area of the hotel? Maybe this would have helped the situation. I am disappointed that your experience of the hotel was not satisfactory and do appreciate your position

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,675 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,568 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddington House

Address: 9-12 Haddington Terrace, Dun Laoghaire A96 F2R9, Ireland (Formerly The Haddington)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $87 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddington House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in Dun Laoghaire, Haddington House has panoramic views of Dublin Bay. Originally four Victorian townhouses the hotel began its life as Haddington House, a finishing school for girls, before being converted into a hotel in the 1950s. We are continuing to develop the hotel property but in keeping with the unique heritage of the building. Our fifty en suite bedrooms have flat screen multi-channel TV's, free WiFi, Nespresso coffee machines, digital radios, hair dryers and filtered still and sparkling water. Our newer 'Classic' and 'Deluxe' rooms also come with an in-room safe, a mini fridge stocked with fresh milk, as well as a complimentary Irish Times. Most of the rooms in these categories also have spectacular sea views. Oliveto, the award-winning restaurant with views of the sea, serves Italian-inspired fare and is extremely popular so booking is highly recommended. There's also two unique events spaces: The Library Bar and Oak Room, a lobby bar and a buzzy garden overlooking the sea complete with a Hut Bar. The location is hard to beat with Dun Laoghaire DART station just a 5-minute walk away which provides regular rail connections to Dublin's city centre. The Aviva Stadium and the RDS can be reached after a 10-minute DART rail journey. If you're staying in the area, we have partnered up with a number of local businesses so guests can enjoy discounts on activities. The beautiful village of Dalkey is a short trip down the coast and is great for an afternoon's ramble. Directly opposite us is the historic east pier which was built especially for the arrival of Queen Victoria in 1900. Around the corner is the National Maritime Museum and the James Joyce Tower made famous by Ulysses is just a 5-minute walk away. If you fancy a dip, we'll supply you with towels for a visit to the well-known swimming spot, the 40 foot (beware of the seals!) We look forward to welcoming you to Haddington House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Haddington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel dún Laoghaire
Haddington House Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing