We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit more attention to detail”
Review of Haddington House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haddington House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

To start with the positives - the room was large, comfortable and clean. The temperature was fine and the bed was comfortable with fresh clean sheets. We had booked a double room and the room had a double and single bed in it with an en-suite bathroom with bath and overhead shower. The décor was slightly shabby, but fine.
We ate one evening in the restaurant - Oliveto which was lovely, the menu was great and reasonably priced and the staff friendly and attentive.
What annoyed me was the lack of little extras which wouldn't have cost much but would have made a difference. There were a couple of sachets of tea and coffee in the room, no biscuits. The kettle was plugged in behind the dressing table, so had to be filled by making several visits to the bathroom with cups of water. The bathroom had a dispenser over the bath which contained shower gel - no shampoo, conditioner, soap, shower cap etc.
Breakfast was along the style of Fawlty Towers. One member of staff who kept disappearing - on one morning I had to ask for cutlery, cups, bread, eggs, milk and for the coffee machine to be replenished! There is one toaster which is very slow and guest run the risk of either burning themselves trying to extricate the toast with their fingers, or electrocute themselves by using a fork! The buffet seemed to be filled at 7am and the food left to harden and congeal for the rest of the morning.
Generally in Ireland I am struck with how much better the service is than in England, but this hotel is the exception to prove the rule. No friendly welcome, no "did you enjoy your stay?" no "can I help you?" as guests rifled through the cupboards looking vainly for crockery. It's a shame, because the hotel is basically fine and in a lovely position on the seafront. With a bit of effort it could be so very much better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KFS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the Kingston. We had a large room at the back of the hotel, no views but very quiet and plenty of room for three people. Room very clean, beds comfortable and the bed linen is fresh; en suite bathroom with shower over the bath. Plenty of hot water. I suggest visitors bring their own toiletries if they like good shampoo and conditioner. There is a dispenser over the bath with shower gel and another next to the basin with hand wash. The only other toiletry provided is a shower cap.
The hotel is kept at a comfortable temperature and the bedroom windows open so you can have fresh air!
The hotel is a little old fashioned in appearance but this does not matter and is easily compensated for by the friendly, helpful atmosphere. The hotel has recently introduced a new security system so all guests must have a key card in order to go upstairs, use the lift and of course, get into their room.
Breakfasts good - plenty of bacon, eggs, sausages, black and white pudding, baked beans and tomatoes freshly cooked, plus cereal, bread for toast, yogurts and fresh fruit salad. If you prefer your tea provided in a tea pot, ask at the bar otherwise tea and coffee available in urns. In the evening the restaurant sells Italian food and there is a good bar.
This hotel is reasonably priced. It is located near the Dart. There is a good bus service from the high street which is only a short walk away.
If you are flying in to Dublin airport take the Aircoach Bus from just outside the main doors and this will take you to Dun Laoghaire, it departs just after the hour. Get off at the Marine Hotel and walk the few hundred yards to the Kingston, only 15 euros return, excellent value and takes approximately 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of the sea and the pier. The hotel is on a cul de sac so hardly any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Gosh, where do I start: hair in drain, shabby décor, dirty, poor toiletry provisions. All they have in way of toiletries is a wall-mounted shower gel dispenser filled with Imperial Leather shower gel for the bathtub and a wall-mounted a soap dispenser filled with antibacterial soap for the sink. That's it. I tried washing my hair. Spent eons pumping away at the shower gel dispenser trying to get enough to be able to wash my hair. My hair was till greasy and dirty after using the Imperial Leather shower gel. I asked for some proper toiletries at reception and said that is the standard they apply. I had to go out to buy toiletries so that I could clean myself!! For the price of the place you expect a bit more. I've stayed in places for the same price where you at least have some decent products. They obviously don't mind their patrons at Kingston Hotel going around all smelly and unclean. Talking of which, they was dust in the room, hair in the drain. On the tables in the rooms they had covered them with custom-cut glass, one of which was damaged revealing a serrated edge - not very health and safety orientated. Breakfast was alright.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha_W_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The room was bright and airy and could accommodate 3 adults comfortably. Bed linen beautifully clean and fresh. Room was spotless as was the bathroom. The room had 2 windows which gave us a fabulous view of the harbour. We ordered room service for breakfast next morning which was a bit late arriving but the staff apologised for this as they had an unusually large group of people all checking out at the same time. When we went to settle our bill we pointed out that they hadn't charged us the room service fee but the lady at reception said that because of the delay in delivering it she wouldn't dream of charging us. The staff were very happy and friendly and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere.Parking was free. We would definitely go back again and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momofbld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent three nights here while attending a wedding at the nearby National Yacht Club and were impressed with this hotel. The staff we saw were all friendly and helpful. The hotel, while a little old fashioned, was comfortable and clean. We had a room at the back but it was very quiet. We didn't eat there, but members of our party who did were very happy. The car park is rather small but the staff did their best to help us find somewhere to park. All in all it was a good first experience of Ireland and wewouldlike to return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As a Dubliner I find DunLaoghaire a strange place. Traditionally it's a place to go on a Sunday afternoon , walk the pier, eat an ice cream at Teddys and then go home .Generally not a place to stay too long in . So , had to spend a weekend there recently and picked this hotel after studying trip advisor carefully . We got a room facing the harbour ( 4 th floor ) and the view was amazing , we left the curtains open at night so we could watch the dawn .The hotel has limited facilities , both the bar and restaurant are subcontracted out and as far as I could gather the bar is only open for private functions .Decor could do with a facelift but generally it is fine and if we are ever in need of a place to stay in dun laoghaire again wil go back .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travellingirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in room 405 which had panoramic views if the harbour but be warned , if you are a light sleeper the dart passes directly in front of the hotel and may disturb you. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly. The mattress was unfortunately a little thin for my back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose a back room but then you miss the lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
#1 of 1 in Leopardstown
1,290 reviews
6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,299 reviews
3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddington House

Address: 9-12 Haddington Terrace, Dun Laoghaire A96 F2R9, Ireland (Formerly The Haddington)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $91 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddington House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in Dun Laoghaire, Haddington House has panoramic views of Dublin Bay. Originally four Victorian townhouses the hotel began its life as Haddington House, a finishing school for girls, before being converted into a hotel in the 1950s. We are continuing to develop the hotel property but in keeping with the unique heritage of the building. Our fifty en suite bedrooms have flat screen multi-channel TV's, free WiFi, Nespresso coffee machines, digital radios, hair dryers and filtered still and sparkling water. Our newer 'Classic' and 'Deluxe' rooms also come with an in-room safe, a mini fridge stocked with fresh milk, as well as a complimentary Irish Times. Most of the rooms in these categories also have spectacular sea views. Oliveto, the award-winning restaurant with views of the sea, serves Italian-inspired fare and is extremely popular so booking is highly recommended. There's also two unique events spaces: The Library Bar and Oak Room, a lobby bar and a buzzy garden overlooking the sea complete with a Hut Bar. The location is hard to beat with Dun Laoghaire DART station just a 5-minute walk away which provides regular rail connections to Dublin's city centre. The Aviva Stadium and the RDS can be reached after a 10-minute DART rail journey. If you're staying in the area, we have partnered up with a number of local businesses so guests can enjoy discounts on activities. The beautiful village of Dalkey is a short trip down the coast and is great for an afternoon's ramble. Directly opposite us is the historic east pier which was built especially for the arrival of Queen Victoria in 1900. Around the corner is the National Maritime Museum and the James Joyce Tower made famous by Ulysses is just a 5-minute walk away. If you fancy a dip, we'll supply you with towels for a visit to the well-known swimming spot, the 40 foot (beware of the seals!) We look forward to welcoming you to Haddington House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haddington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel dún Laoghaire
Haddington House Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing