We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”
Review of Mulgrave Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mulgrave Lodge
Ranked #11 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very good staff, very welcoming and hard working, the owners are lucky to have such a good team working for them, ok its not a 5 star but its comfortable and offers a decent breakfast, for the money it was great. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed, free wi fi and a tv in the bedroom, Location very good for transport and close to Dunlaoire shops,but not too close very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dublincrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

First of all had difficulty finding the lodge on Mulgrave Street despite Google Maps' best efforts. Parking at the rear was difficult as shown in attached photos. Reception was friendly even with the language barrier. The room was small and unlike the website photos. The showerhead was difficult to manage but worked eventually. It was a quiet spot and handy for our social visit to Dun Laoighre. Breakfast was adequate, though the full Irish tasted too much of cooking oil. Our waitress/cook was a friendly young lady from Latvia who amused us when she asked "what would you like to drink?" - what a question to ask of an Irish man!! The reality was different from the website information. Given a choice we would go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The first evening I arrived,I was quickly booked in,asked if I wanted to pay now or after our 2night stay. I Was asked what we would like for breakfast each morn,then shown to room, this had large double bed and big enough single bed.room was clean,with clean and fresh towels, tea and coffee facilities, shampoo and shower gel supplied in bathroom. Television had limited channels. And quality on some off the stations were poor. Bathroom was clean with extra towels. Room was very stuffy as they had the heat full on,so we had to leave window open to take in a bit off fresh air. Breakfast was decent ,with selection of cereals,fresh fruit salad,orange juice,natural yogurt,fruit etc, the actual irish breakfast the first morn,(Sunday)' was a bit disappointing ,consisted of 2 bacon,2 sausage,fried egg,one small hash brown,and small bit off pudding,(no beans,tomatoes,mushrooms,etc) so plate looked a bit empty. My advise fill yourself well with the cereals, fruit etc before your Irish fry. The second night we stayed,we were both very tired after working all day on Sunday, both off us were wakened just after 7am,with the noise from the staff( 2foreign girls) who were smoking outside ,and laughing and talking out very loud, it was impossible to get back to sleep as they were just below our window. All they had to do was keep their voices down,so people could sleep. The second morn for some reason,the full irish breakfast was much better,as they gave us beans,tomatoes,hash browns etc, it was a pity that the noise that morning sort of spoilt our stay. As this b&b is very close to all shops,bars ,restaurants etc. please note that if you arrive by dart,bus etc, it is a bit of a steep hill up to the b&b. it could prove a little awkward for anyone with walking difficulties. As I checked out I made the girl aware off our disappointment at the noise so early in the morn,she said she would take note and pass my comments on to the manager.?






  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JIM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked accommodation 2months ago in this bed and breakfast secured. By my credit card no. One week before they ring to cancel my booking saying the people in the room want to stay on .they did not offer alternative accommodation .it is a festival weekend . This is a disgraceful shabby way to treat visitors
Mary

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Location: Excellent

Rooms: Good standard, however needed a chair & table. Rooms needed a mirror too.

Cleanliness: Good

Service: East European very rude, nasty staff, snooping around guests rooms.

Sintja,the girl serving breakfast & the cleaner is very bad to guests with children.

Overall: Good but has a East European feel to the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eyecheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Convenient basic accommodation close to ferry and Dart. Still in process of being updated so some areas lacking in cleanliness. Heating, hot water and bedding OK. Breakfast adequate. However our last night of three was seriously disrupted by the late admission of unbooked guests. The television blared all night on high volume and our breakfast time was upset by the appearance of these guests. We did not need parking so do not comment. Will not book again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff were friendly, helpful, polite and cheerful. The room was perhaps a little out of date but it was very clean and the B&B was in a quiet location, which is far more important to me. Breakfast was served promptly and the food was good - and the portion size was ok too.

There's car parking at the back of the B&B, which is a real bonus because there's only limited parking on the road and you have to pay for it. It's a bit tight to get in and out of the B&B car park but with a bit of skill and manouvering it's ok.

It makes a perfectly good overnight stop on the way to the airport and is about 5 mins walk from the town if you need/want to go shopping/eat out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dun Laoghaire hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
387 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Claremont House
Claremont House
#13 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tara Hall Accommodation
Tara Hall Accommodation
#10 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulgrave Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulgrave Lodge

Address: 47 Mulgrave Street,, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland (Formerly Ariemond Bed & Breakfast )
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $87 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulgrave Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mulgrave Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulgrave Lodge Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing