We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the way it's supposed to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at Ferry House while attending the Mountains to Sea Literary Festival this year, and we were so pleased. The rooms were large and comfortable, the breakfasts excellent, but best of all Eamon and Pauline were so warm and helpful--a little bit of Cork in the Greater Dublin area.
If you come on a Saturday there is a fabulous outdoor artisan food market just a block away, and one block further is Teddy's Ice Cream, established in 1950 and dazzlingly evoked in Hugo Hamilton's novel Hand in the Fire. Leave time to walk to the end of the pier in Dun Laoghaire--lovely views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ted29Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful two night stay. Very large rooms, quiet stay and very relaxing. Food was lovely and the house was very warm and welcoming. The house is a stones throw from the Dart and only a twenty minute ride into downtown Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishbone99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My partner and myself were fortunate to stay in the Ferry House on Friday 7 September 2012. We received a warm welcome from the owner and the lady kindly let us check in early and leave our bags in the room. The bed and breakfast was spotlessly clean and we had an abundance of fresh towels. Our breakfast was delicious and plentiful and we were also allowed a late check out to take a stroll to the pier. On our next trip to Dun Laoghaire we hope to be fortunate enough to stay at this very friendly and homely bed and breakfast .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreeneyesMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Situated on kind of a cul-de-sac that backs up to a fairly busy road, I found location to be just what I was looking for. We walked a few blocks for supper, past shops and some parks. If we's had more time, I would love to have explored a little more. I didn't find the traffic noise to be unbearable, although it was noticeable.
The room I had was ensuite, and the shower was hot. Nice not to have to go out into the hall for a bathroom break. I would have preferred a room further back in the house or upstairs (mine was directly when you come into the house, and I heard all the comings and goings), but, actually, I was so tired that I didn't hear much unwelcome noise. High ceilings and big windows. More spacious than I expected.
Chatty and friendly Eamon took care of everything. A very full and satisfying Irish Fry for breakfast! It was a delight to hear Eamon bustling around the kitchen, actually whistling the song about Carrickfergus! It was too funny.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further back. Room directly by the front door can be kind of loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AprilDvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

.Pauline,Eamonn and Ronan are proprieters par excellence. Ferry House is ideally situated ,adjacent to the Ferry ,bus and dart stations ,shops, seaside walks swimming area, Peoples' Park where there are the delightful Sunday markets.. , , We have continued to return to stay there from time to time throughout the years.On our most recent visit, Americans spoke of how ideal it was that the air Coach from Dublin Airport had brought them to the door.Accommodation is warm,comfortable, clean ----,decor in keeping with the unique historic features of this period house.Food is tasty,plentiful,varied, promptly served.Above all, the warm ,caring ,sincere welcome is sustained throughout visit/s.It is amazing to observe the amount of time and energy that Pauline.Eamonn,Ronan spend with guests,facilitating good-humoured mingling,banter and chat ,guiding us to best transport,restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The windows were paper thin. The road was constant all night with lorries driving past. Most uncomfortable bed and even worse bed linen. I itched all night. I couldn't even bring myself to go down for breakfast as I had no sleep and felt annoyed at standard. Weird place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Student01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Pauline was the most welcoming of hostesses to her bed and breakfast. She made us feel right at home. Her location outside Dublin is excellent - steps from the train into the city. She has no onsite parking but is across from a metered parking location that is 6 Euros for 24 hours, and is free on Sundays. The room we had was clean and adequare for our needs. Her breakfast was a little more spartan than others we had, but again adequate, although the dining room in below ground and not the most beautiful. However, Pauline is a warm and wonderful person, and she more than compensates for the more basic of accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moose48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
3.3 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
0.3 mi away
Mulgrave Lodge
Mulgrave Lodge
#11 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Clarinda Park North | Dun Laoghaire, Dun Laoghaire Co. Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $91 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you arrive, Pauline and Eamon will make every effort to ensure that your stay is relaxing and comfortable in their family home. The Ferry House B&B is a Victorian home build in 1860 and is Bord Failte (Irish Tourist Board)approved. The Ferry house is situated in Clarinda Park North in the stunning Harbour town of Dun Laoghaire and is only a few minutes walk from the many local amenities, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ferry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry House b&b
Ferry House Hotel
Ferry House Bed And Breakfast Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing