We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to begin a trip to Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect place to begin a trip to Ireland”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Ferry House is outstanding in every way. I've stayed here many times and wouldn't think of going anyplace else. More than the great breakfasts, great location and comfortable rooms, Ferry House is about Pauline and Eamon Teehan. They welcome all of their guests as if they were members of their family and go the extra mile to meet the needs of their visitors. During my stay this summer, one of my traveling companions needed medical attention because of a fall suffered in the street. Pauline and Eamon made sure my friend got everything she needed, including breakfast in bed and giving her rides in their personal car. There is no better place to stay and no finer family. Not the only B&B in Ireland-just the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CausewayRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    22
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
33
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Picked up our car at the airport and headed down the M50 to Dun Laoghaire. Our host was waiting for us, got us settled in to our comfortable room within sight of the ocean. It's all about location: quick walk to the pier for a view of the yacht club and the sailboat filled ocean. Then to the train station (DART) for a 20 minute ride into Dublin city centre. Breakfast was nice. Parking is extra, but the lot is just next door (6 euro for the day). Great choice for our 1st night in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wielersonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

As i said before we would be back, and we were. Is there many places where the owners would give up their own room so that a guest would not be dissappointed? well The ferry House is one, they gave their room up for my Mother on a recent visit, really first class service once again well done!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

On a recommendation from a travel book my teenage daughter and I made our only reservation for our entire Ireland adventure; we were so happy that we followed Rick Steves' advice! The Ferry House B & B, in quaint Dun Laoghaire, was a great place to spend our first two nights in Ireland. Our hosts were so welcoming and helpful, even when our rental car failed to show. Breakfast was excellent each morning, and we really enjoyed the feeling of being part of an Irish family! The town of Dun Laoghaire was everything we hoped it would be: a lovely ferry port town with a gorgeous pier and coastal views. We were lucky enough to be there on Sunday when there is an amazing market in the town park which was only a half block from the Ferry House. We will definitely visit the Ferry House on our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmuffett66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

stayed here for 2 nights end of November.Flew to Dublin for a family wedding & this B&B was only a few minutes away from my aunties house.From the moment we arrived (which was close to midnight on the friday evening)Pauline & Eamonn made us feel welcome.We shared a family room with 2 daughters of 10 & 13.The room was a good size,comfortable & clean.We had ensuite & the beds were all very comfortable.The weather outside was very cold,infact it snowed from the friday night until we left on the Sunday evening, but the hospitality we received couldn't have been warmer.Price was very reasonable & included probably one of the best irish breakfasts we ever tasted.on the morning we were leaving pauline organised a taxi for us,but with the weather so bad the taxi never arrived.Eammon offered to drive us.We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay & would definately recommend.Will certainly return next time we're over in Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ant1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I stayed for 1 week at Ferry House, plus a further night upon returning to Blackpool from Cobh. Ferry House is very conveniently situated, with a bus stop (bus from Dublin) right beside the guest house, and Sandycove & Glasthule DART (railway) Station a couple of roads away. The guest house is comfortable. Hospitality is good and the hosts are very friendly. Breakfast is excellent, and sets you up for the day. I hope to make a return visit!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dejrossall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Ferry House and were very happy there. Paulene and Eamon were welcoming and helpful in recommending places to eat and visit. The Ferry House is well located in a lovely area close to everything. It was easy to catch the train to Dublin. The Irish breakfasts were generous and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Ontheroadagain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
Lynden Bed & Breakfast
Lynden Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Lodge B&B
Windsor Lodge B&B
#2 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Clarinda Park North | Dun Laoghaire, Dun Laoghaire Co. Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you arrive, Pauline and Eamon will make every effort to ensure that your stay is relaxing and comfortable in their family home. The Ferry House B&B is a Victorian home build in 1860 and is Bord Failte (Irish Tourist Board)approved. The Ferry house is situated in Clarinda Park North in the stunning Harbour town of Dun Laoghaire and is only a few minutes walk from the many local amenities, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ferry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry House b&b
Ferry House Hotel
Ferry House Bed And Breakfast Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing