We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to get a bathroom into a cupboard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tara Hall Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Ooh, this was grim! The web site makes the place look all spick and span, but inside it is all very tired and worn out. Don't be fooled by the yellow paintwork; beauty is really only skin deep.

The worn carpets on the stairs forewarned of the worse ones in the room. It was the thinnest, roughest carpet you have ever seen and to cap it all, it had cigarette burns just to set it off nicely ;-(

They had managed to squeeze a double and a single bed in, as well as a bathroom (well, perhaps shower-cupboard would be more appropriate). The room was cluttered and everything was well past its sell-by date.

The basin had a huge crack in it, which really did go all the way through as the gunge oozing out underneath testified. The only way to get to the toilet was to squeeze against the basin and shut the custom-made door first. It must have been made to measure as it was only about about two feet across!

The rest of the house was equally tired and worn and smelt of cooking. The door handles were those fake brass ones with sharp edges that threated to slice ones fingers off .

Though the breakfast was OK, the cracked cups and the way the fork stuck to the tablecloth put a bit of a dampener on things.

The best thing about this place was the excellent Indian restuarant down the road, nuff-said!

In our ten-day tour of Ireland, this was the worst place we stayed and the worst value by far.

Will we be going back? Yes, but only to the Indian restaurant - not here!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k1200ltgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2008

If you're driving it will be a challenge to find a place to park to check in and find out where you can park. Parking is around the back and guests are expected to drag their luggage around the block to get in the building. I might add that after parking there I ended up with a nail in my tire.
Needless to say it wasn't a great start to checking in after a full day of touring.
The website makes it sound like this is a B&B run by a couple. Never met them - met their employees though. More of a hotel then a B&B. Hospitality level wasn't great.
I know the property is old but it didn't feel very clean. The towels were very thin - they are getting the full use out of them.
It wasn't a horrible experience but I certainly won't return. It's handy to get to the ferry though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AlbertaTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Xabi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clemence0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaDalton51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid_Tschugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
0.9 mi away
Mulgrave Lodge
Mulgrave Lodge
#12 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Hall Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Hall Accommodation

Address: 24 Sandycove Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: $90 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tara Hall Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Hall located in Sandycove, near Dun Laoghaire in South Co. Dublin is just minutes walking from the seaside and also one of Dublin's major attractions - the James Joyce Tower. Tara Hall Accommodation is a historical Regency style house which retains many of its original features. Tara Hall is family run and offers the highest quality and standards, offering such amenities as having rooms’ en-suite, cable TV, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary hairdryers, guest sitting room, family rooms and free car parking. A freshly cooked traditional Irish breakfast await you daily. When you stay at Tara Hall you will also be close to Dalkey, Killiney and within easy reach of Co. Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tara Hall Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hall Accommodation Dun Laoghaire, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing