We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again”
Review of Ferryman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferryman Hotel
Ranked #97 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Had a lovely weekend. Good craic in the bar, staff very friendly. Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered after the previous nights drinking. Great location for getting round Dublin, lovely view onto the Liffey. Rooms very comfortable and nicely decorated. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkletoes7808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    72
    24
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
60
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Took a chance booking The Ferryman from on-line reviews but very pleased about ease with which all 21 of us were accommodated on the day. Bar service very quick and all staff happy, helpful and professional. Breakfast exceptional.
Rooms basic but well maintained and decorated. Spotlessly clean on arrival and well tidied on second day. Plenty of hot water at a high pressure and everything worked.
About 15 minutes walk from Temple Bar but other good bars with food located closer. At end of the beautiful Samuel Beckett Bridge and close to Theatre with quality restaurants, small supermarket all overlooking marina.
What we liked best :- It was just so easy and, at 30-50 euros a night, a bargain.
What we liked least :- That's a hard one but we could have done with a 'how to get there from the airport' button ot even a mini-bus number to book.
Would I go back :- Absolutely.
Thanks to Tom O'Brian and his staff for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreconTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

A great place to stay! Short walk from the center of Dublin, nice hotel and fun pub.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kearbear1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

stayed here for 2 nights as we went to croke park to see westlife.
good central position about 20 min walk to croke and oconnell st etc.
the pub was quite noisy most of the day and especially at night with people spilling onto streets with there drinks we stayed above the pub and the noise went on till early hours of morning.
the breakfast was quite nice and the coffee good but the price of drinks in the pub and every pub come to that are very expensive 5 euro for a guiness or a lager and same price for bottled beer and alco pop etc make sure you take plenty of cash just for food and drink.
we ate out in temple bar in the thunder road cafe which was lovely.and not over priced except the drinks.
all in all ok but the jurys hotel in the centre at parnell st is much more modern looks really nice and was the same money they are doin kids eat and stay free check out their website hope this helps we will return to dublin but not to ferryman due to the noise.
another tip is when you get to airport make sure you get on the right bus if you want the express bus you need the 747 or 748 its 6 euro each way
if you get the 41 it takes a bit longr but is only 2.20 each way into city happy holidays.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchellsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLNSHIRE UK
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Warm welcome on arrival, nothing too much trouble. Rooms clean and functional. About 15min walk to the main area. Would definately go back, thanks to all there for making our stay so much fun...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTASCKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

do not be fooled by the pictures that are posted on the net, it was filthy dirty, you couldnt swing a rat in the bathroom, it was dated tatty and smelly! the staff were unhelpful and unwelcoming, the breakfast room was dirty with filthy windows to try and see out of, the chairs were ripped and stained, we could not wait to get out of there. i definateley would advise you against staying here.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lampsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I recent was on a Pub Tour of Ireland and stayed at the Maldron Hotel, Cardiff Lane, which is located a few buildings down from the Ferryman. The Maldron, being very contemporary, me and my friend went in search of a real irish pub and happened upon the Ferryman. I loved the pub, the bartenders and the owner. I had a chance to see one of the rooms upstairs and it was beautiful. I would highly recommend this hotel and I plan on staying at the Ferryman on my next trip to Dublin.

Stayed March 2010
Helpful?
Thank metalchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.6 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryman Hotel

Property: Ferryman Hotel
Address: 35 sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferryman Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ferryman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryman Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing