We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rude, unhelpful staff. Horrible place!!!!!Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avondale House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avondale House
Ranked #135 of 160 Dublin B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude, unhelpful staff. Horrible place!!!!!Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and I am surprised it is still open.
The rooms are falling apart and disgustingly filthy.
We were woken at 6am by our bathroom roof leaking, we went to reception to see if we could move rooms and I have never been treated so badly in my life. The receptionist yelled at us and slammed the door in our face after we asked for assistance. It really ruined my Dublin experience. The receptionist repeatedly told us he didn't care, in the morning the "manager" was very unhelpful and unapologetic.
Clearly none of the staff do not know the first thing about customer service. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anybody no matter how cheap it is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Avondale House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Kylie

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of Avondale House, we offer budget city centre accommodation, and any issues that you may have encountered during your stay would have been quickly addressed by our team if such issues were brought to their attention, if our team have fallen short in that regard we are disappointed. Please always BOOK DIRECT on Our website and LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with our Special Offers and Free Draws.

Regards The Management and Staff at Avondale House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    41
    69
    62
    79
See reviews for
34
96
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

dont stay there, sleep on a park bench as it would be cheaper and a lot cleaner. I have been to India and seen the slums and believe me, this place should be there, then they could charge, In the city centre of Dublin, it should be condemned as without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in, in my entire life. The room cost €90 due to the Football All Ireland being on and was an absolute embarrassment. The rooms are literally falling to pieces, with this I mean that the shower door in the room was actually hanging off. The shower didnt work as there was no pressure.Pictures on website look great but these must be taken somewhere else. Even the stairs is falling to pieces in the place. I never had breakfast because I just knew it would be bad, as my mate found out to his cost !!!! A horrible hotel. I would not bring a dog into that place again. I was at the front of the building, the window was broken, the curtains were hanging off plus the mattress was so old, it had completely seperated and the springs were broken. I can not understand how this place is allowed to have a permit to actually charge people. and to finish off there was a huge hole in the ceiling up by the window ???

Room Tip: dont stay there, sleep on a park bench as it would be cheaper and a lot cleaner. I have been to Indi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eithne1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Avondale House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Eithne

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of Avondale House, we offer budget city centre accommodation, and any issues that you may have encountered during your stay would have been quickly addressed by our team if such issues were brought to their attention, if our team have fallen short in that regard we are disappointed. Please always BOOK DIRECT on Our website and LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with our Special Offers and Free Draws.

Regards The Management and Staff at Avondale House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

stayed at this guesthouse for a weekend in august, good location, value for money, great breakfast served, friendly staff. only bad point I can think of was there was no tea making facilities in our room.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back so you don't hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Avondale House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi Ann F

Firstly, thank you for choosing Avondale House, in Dublin City Centre, where we offer budget City Centre Bed and Breakfast Accommodation. You have highlighted many of the key selling points of our products and services, our friendly staff, our central location, our comfortable rooms and that all important full Irish Breakfast.

We would ask you to LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with special offers and FREE draws.

Thank you again Ann for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Avondale House, please BOOK DIRECT on Our own website for your next stay, and until we meet again, God Bless and Safe travelling.

Yours in gratitude, The Management and Staff, Avondale House, Budget Bed and Breakfast Accommodation, Dublin City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in, in my entire life. The room cost €117 due to the rhianna concert being on and was an absolute embarrassment. The reception staff bar one nice man were ignorant and utterly unhelpful. The rooms are literally falling to pieces, with this I mean that the shower door in the room was actually hanging off. The shower didnt work as there was no pressure and you needed to hug the wall. The female receptionist disagreed the shower was in "working order" due to the fact water actually dripped from it. I urge you not to step inside this place. Pictures on website look great but these must be taken somewhere else. Even the stairs is falling to pieces in the place. The "FREE" irish breakfast was poor at best. A horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Not one here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager-MT21, Public Relations Manager at Avondale House, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Craig O

Thank you for offering an opinion of Avondale House. Please make sure to BOOK DIRECT for your next stay and LIKE us on Facebook to stay up to date with special offers and free draws.

Regards
The Staff and Management, Avondale House, Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My trip to Avondale House wasn't a pleasant visit but rather a regrettable one. While it had a central location there was not much else going for it. At a cost of €118 for two people for one night the room was cramped the shower did not work properly and when calling upon assistance we were told that the water was running, however as there was water coming out of the shower it was running down the side of the wall and hadn't enough pressure for you to wash yourself. There was one socket and you could hear everything outside your room. I would NOT suggest anyone to stay here. It is crying out for serious interior design and it's a pity because of its central location it could do a lot for itself!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The good things..... fresh towels every day, half decent coffee at breakfast, 5 minute walk to the City Centre, staff at breakfast were very friendly.

The not so good things...... breakfast was bad (even if it was free!!), eggs were swimming in oil which is disgusting no matter which way you look at it, some of the reception staff were abrupt and not overly friendly, the bathroom ceiling was peeling paint and the carpet didn't fit the floor properly in the bedroom (which looked like it need a thorough clean), the 'cable' tv was a laugh, and the best bit of all of this...... the bed fell apart!!!! Admitedly the maintenance man was friendly and efficient once he got there, but we'd been in our room for enough time to unpack a suitcase and turn the tv on and sit on the bed for 5 minutes when it started to creak and wobble. Also it has single glazing windows, and when your room is at the front of the place, you spend half your night hearing people outside who are trying to find a place to stay when your tying to sleep.

If you are looking for a place to stay as an emergency, then by all means stay here. If you want somewhere to stay and enjoy your trip to Dublin, then do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

For 60 euros a night, you can definitely find a better hotel. The Avondale is not a B&B, but rather a crummy motel. The place was basically falling apart. The room was incredibly messy, with a shower that barely worked. I do not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evelghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Maple Hotel
Maple Hotel
#120 of 150 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#15 of 160 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durban Residence
Durban Residence
#127 of 160 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Glen Guesthouse
The Glen Guesthouse
#129 of 160 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#11 of 160 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbington House B&B
Abbington House B&B
#117 of 160 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale House

Property: Avondale House
Address: 40-41 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avondale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing