We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good...”

Break for the Border
Ranked #1,925 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Mexican, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great mexican food in Dublin! Weird...but delicious. The nachos were outstanding and the restaurant is very nice and welcoming.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katkirbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place for a birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My 40th birthday was great for many reasons. Apart from my lovely family and friends being there, our every need was met. The staff were very helpful, the food was plentiful and hot, music great and our area for the party was ideal! We were neatly sectioned off in the centre of the venue. All in all, perfect. Thoroughly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for sports but that's about all.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great place to watch a match, plenty of TV's and a large screen but drinks are very very expensive. I'm a Guinness drinker and have been server pints that looked more like milk shakes. I would often to there for the game and leave straight after to a more affordable pub, Dublin has plenty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice place for a few drinks in the afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Really nice venue,good atmosphere & very friendly staff ! The food looked & smelled really nice,will sample the next time !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK Food and Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We saw the menu and thought nachos sounded like a good snack. We order the chicken nachos and they were nothing great for the price. A little short on cheese and the salsa was more like ketchup with tomatoes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Break for the Border also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Break for the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing