We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...very romantic setting!”
Review of Boulevard Cafe

Boulevard Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Boulevard Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #390 of 2,700 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely spot! Dined here with my husband recently! Very warm welcome.The atmosphere is full of romance and the decor lends itself to it! Starter of pate was totally fab..main course salmon beautiful but I would dock a mark for deserts, asked for a desert menu & was shown a plate of cakes instead, I selected hot apple pie but to see it popped in the micro kind of ruined the moment for me...otherwise a great venue but please sort out the deserts!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seanshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 534 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We dropped into the cafe on a Sunday evening, it was nicely decorated with a good priced menu My husband ordered a beer (no choice only one kind) I ordered sparkling water, the menu had a limited choice; we decided on the chicken & the carbonara and a bottle of house white(plonk) the food arrived very quickly (too soon really to be anyway fresh) and the taste confirmed it; it was very bad, stodgy potatoes roasted stuffed breast of chicken it was supposed to be stuffed with cheese and peppers it was a sticky messy and tasted as it looked, the pasta was bland no real flavour both dishes were hard to eat and the wine was so harsh it made my stomach burn instantly; in fact we just asked for the bill and left we both felt extremely unwell and very disappointed. the bill was about €67 what a total disgrace for very bad food and Wine. We will never be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fintan O, Owner at Boulevard Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Really disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at Boulevard Cafe and the scathing like comments in your review. We pride ourselves on good food, service & hospitality. I am assuming you were in for the Early Bird, these type of menus by nature are limited but we get huge compliments generally speaking on the value & variety available, there are 5 starters, 7 main courses plus any pasta pizza from main menu. I assure you everything as far as possible if cooked from fresh, potatoes like in all restaurants have to be pre/par cooked. As for the wine it is a pity that you did not send it back if it burnt your stomach instantly. I can assure you we sell 6/8 cases of this wine weekly and if it was "Plonk" it would not be on offer. Maybe it was corked if it tasted that bad ?.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I've been to Café Boulevard loads of times for lunch and it is delish! The food is always great, and the service is amazing! Really friendly, helpful staff who generally remember you if you come in quite often!

Thank WhiteTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant cannot be faulted. It comes up trumps in all respects, the food is marvelous. Their ingredients are fresh and local, they may not use the most expensive cuts of meat in their dishes but their emphasis is on quality of food and flavor. While the majority of the menu changes with the season, their signature dishes are always a welcome stable on the menu. The staff are very professional and do their job superbly. They will always try and accommodate your needs when it comes to booking a table or choosing a table of your choice. The toilets are always clean and the bill is very reasonably priced. The early bird is especially good value, particularly satisfying at just under €20 for two courses.

I have eaten here with friends, brought my family and have had work-oriented meals. It strikes a lovely balance between the casual atmosphere and the excellent service to make it a restaurant truly suitable for any occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a find! having already eaten brunch at 10am, by 3pm we were desperately seeking one place in Dublin that was serving regular food (It seems on a Sunday, Brunch in Dublin is ubiquitous!). Happened upon this little place and absolutely loved it. Their house red was very drinkable for a reasonable prive, and their food was very good. Its not fine dining, but for a lazy afternoon meal with wine, it was perfect. The portions were quite large, and the menu was quite varied. Happily, it did not break the bank either. Would return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BecR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulevard Cafe also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Boulevard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing