We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value tasty Indian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madina Desi Curry Co.

Madina Desi Curry Co.
Ranked #981 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value tasty Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you can get past the slightly shabby exterior and works-canteen layout of this restaurant, you can enjoy some genuinely good-tasting and good-value Indian cooking. They have separate vegetarian and meat-based menus, and segregated cooking, so this is a great place to bring your vegetarian friends. There's also a high proportion of Asian customers, which is a good indication of authentic food. I ordered the lamb curry, and was a little shocked to find some of the meat still on the bone, but it tasted amazing so I didn't mind. The restaurant doesn't serve alcohol, but has soft drinks available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    59
    19
    11
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stumbled upon this place by accident when another restaurant I looked for wasn't open. But I must say it was great and well worth it. Decently priced and you get a lot of food. The curry is amazing, and I got an appetizer with a coconut chutney that was equally as good. Recommended if you're in Dublin and want Indian food

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refused entry due to guide dog”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My son and his partner were refused entry to this restaurant recently because of his guide dog. The owner said that due to hygiene reasons the dog would not be allowed into the restaurant even though he told them he had Guide Dog I.D. He said it "makes no difference, means nothing". We will not be revisiting this restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizanne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sorry guys,today it was like that!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

very bad customer service,waiter did not take order carefully,deliver wrong order,tried put blame on us,for his mistake.Charged full price for something like curry,but i am sure it was not curry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AzizKristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rich but good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I do like the food here but I'd only recommend going if you're really hungry as it is seriously rich & carb heavy, but that could just be Indian food in general as I'm no expert. My boyfriend loves the place and we live close so we order take out from Madina about once every fortnight and it's consistently good, fragrant dishes with falling-off-the-bone-tender meats. Some seriously good veg dishes too, a lot of choice for usually limited veggies!The portions in the chicken/lamb/veg curries are generous, as are the rice and bread portions but we were disappointed every time we ordered prawns as there was always so few so we eventually gave up ordering them. A great indian, but make sure you're hungry!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madina Desi Curry Co. also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Madina Desi Curry Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing