We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, tasty, very good value”
Review of Cactus Jacks

Cactus Jacks
Ranked #538 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $25 - $49
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingscourt, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, tasty, very good value”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times, and recently returned with our 3 children aged 3, 5 and 7. The waiting staff are always friendly and helpful, and often remember us even though we only visit the restaurant a few times a year. Food is always tasty, atmosphere is great, and we always feel like valued customers. The staff commented on how well behaved the kids were, which made the little people feel very important! Will be back next time we're in the City.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joedunne, Owner at Cactus Jacks, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
hi there

thank you so much for your kind words about the restaurant and the staff, which I have passed on. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and kid are always looked after at Cactus Jacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    147
    64
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is a hit or miss - they do fluctuate in their quality of food quite a bit, they can be super delicious one day and just mediocre the following.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfreak-ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joedunne, Owner at Cactus Jacks, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi there

Im sorry I took a while to respond to your review. Im sorry you fell the food can be so different on different times you visit, it is something I have brought to the chefs attention and we do train all our chef the same so that it should taste the same no matter what day it is. I have mentioned it to them and hope you will come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My second time here and again we were not disappointed. Great value for money. Service was great. Staff are lovely. My only disappointment was the chicken wings. A bit tasteless, not spicy at all. Over all a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjaneab82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love this place:)”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is my second time to visit this restaurant. I really love the food and the early bird @ 20euro is a steal. I got a delicious salad for starter with nice big juicy pieces of avacado. For dinner, I got a paella with yummy chunky pieces of calamari, king prawns in their shells and juicy mussels. I was very pleased. The portion size was fit for a king and this suited me as I was starving after a long day in Dublin. For dessert, I got a slice of lime cheesecake, which was served with cream and a lemon sauce. I regretted not getting the chocolate brownie that my friend got, as it looked divine. Great service too. Overall, it was A1!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amimir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, good service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food was good, i was not disappointed but it wasnt mouthwatering or excellent. Worth a visit if youre walking past but i probably would not go there again. Service was good and portion sizes are generous. Coeliac friendly options available which was a bonus

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coeliacfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jacks also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cactus Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing