We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won’t be back ”
Review of Locks

Locks
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #116 of 3,264 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $39
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary
Description: Locks at One Windsor Terrace is a new restaurant along the spectacular setting of the canal in Portobello, Dublin 8. The menu is modern Irish with a focus on top quality food at an affordable price.
Restaurant details
Description: Locks at One Windsor Terrace is a new restaurant along the spectacular setting of the canal in Portobello, Dublin 8. The menu is modern Irish with a focus on top quality food at an affordable price.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First to be seated in this restaurant service was terrible starters ok but main course veg and potatoes came to the table eventually as we were just finished. Hate to see what they do when it’s busy. Dessert took ages to come out the chef was too busy eating the strawberry must have ate too many as the strawberry came out wafer thin so we got one each on top of meringue. Won’t be back lovely setting that’s all I can say. Pity

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank FirstFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very poor response(none) to a bad crab starter!!

by all means charge high prices but do not leave crab shell in your dishes!!

worse than that was the reaction from our server.

“ i’ll tell the chef “ is just not enough at your prices!!

we won’t be back and we’ll warn our friends.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank auke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

An amazing find, beautifully decorated restaurant serving amazingly and lovingly cooked and presented food, had three sublime courses as had my partner. Brilliant value for the quality. Can't wait to return.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iseult2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

The food and the ingredients were excellent
We had a voucher which included a glass of wine per person I was the designated driver so i could not drink wine and I had to pay extra for a soft drink I thought that was a bit unfare
The place was busy but there was something missing re the atmosphere
This restaurant has changed hands many times I have been going there for a long time

I will go back again i hope they get back what they have lost

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Iceman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

This was my third time going to Locks, and it had been some time since I was last there, it may also be my last for a while.
Went for a family lunch, and was really quite shocked at the lacklustre, unorganised service. Our table was not ready for almost a half an hour. We didn't initially even get an apology for this, and there seemed to be general confusion about what was going on. It was only when a member of the party said to one of the wait staff that it was really not on how long we were waiting outside for our table that they kindly gave us some complimentary snacks.
The service was extremely slow. There was long gaps between each course, and we were waiting 25 minutes to pay the bill. Two of our sides were forgotten.
You couldn't fault the meat; the steak was cooked perfectly and the lamb was very enjoyable. The two fish dishes, especially the sea bream starer, were also quite good. Portions were a good size also, and the lunch menu is good value. However, what sides did come (beef dripping fries, potatoes and broccoli) were bland, under seasoned and the tender stem broccoli over-cooked and bitter.
We had a vegan with us, which we informed the restaurant when we were making the booking the week before, but the servers were unaware of this. Because of this, she got a bitter tomato salad, with tomato juice dressing and some leaves. The main was a really sorry dish of extremely dry roast potatoes, lukewarm peas and edame with a bland pea puree. It was genuinely a terrible dish, and a great disappointment. If you are unable to cater to vegans or vegetarians, then please let them know so we could have made alternative arrangements.
Overall, there were definitely some hits, but too many misses for this to get even an okay review. The service, while friendly, was really unprofessional and lacking. The food for lunch is absolutely average, and it leaves me wondering why so many people are still raving about Locks when so many other restaurants around Clanbrassil street, Portobello and close by do what Locks do better, and with much better service.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locks also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing