We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and location...WONDERFUL FOOD!”

The Hairy Lemon Cafe Bar
Ranked #69 of 2,596 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Traditional Irish Pub/Restaurant.Family run Restaurant serving food with reciepes handed down from generations. Our first recipe book is available.
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere and location...WONDERFUL FOOD!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were in Dublin for 3 nights and went to this pub/restaurant 2 nights in a row. The owners are fantastic, friendly, and the food is delicious (the beer is great too)! If you go to Dublin, do some shopping, say "hi" to Molly Malone, and be sure to stop at The Hairy Lemon. Did I mention the bread pudding is to die for? Great great great place! If we ever go to your part of the world again we will put this place at the top of our list!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahoewinetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,005
    549
    129
    35
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited Hairy Lemon for breakfast after arriving in Dublin.
I know we were probably the first of the day but all felt a little 'cold'.
The Hairy Lemon could do with a bit of 'do up', a good few of the seating was worn, and ripped all a bit tired.
Breakfast was Ok, good ingredients but on cold plates, as the bar was cold the food quickly cooled down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bats7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis mo
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were happy the front desk at our hotel recommended The Hairy Lemon. It did not disappoint. Our server, Darren, was fun and helpful. The Seafood Chowder was outstanding. Some of us had Guinness Beef Pie, some had the Lamb Stew, others had Fish and Chips. All agreed it was very good. The Bread Pudding was a wonderful way to end up the meal. There seemed to be a lot of locals in the pub, which speaks well for it. We walked to this pub and felt safe walking back to the hotel. We were there in November.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but good service”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stopped here for a pre-theatre meal before attending a show at the Gaiety Theatre. The staff was extremely friendly and we had good service. Serves traditional Irish pub food which is exactly what we wanted on our last night in Ireland. Not fancy by any means and is a true pub environment.
We enjoyed our meal and the service and if you are looking for a simple, traditional Irish meal this place does a good job.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smitk037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice bar - "ok" food ”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice experience having a few drinks at this bar. However, I would not suggest the food - very basic fare. While I acknowledge nachos in Ireland is not a staple, we a received the "bottom of the bag" covered in cheese. Disappointing given the other reviews.

Helpful?
Thank JBC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hairy Lemon Cafe Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Hairy Lemon Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing