We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THe obligatory pint”

The Hairy Lemon Cafe Bar
Ranked #70 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Traditional Irish Pub/Restaurant.Family run Restaurant serving food with reciepes handed down from generations. Our first recipe book is available.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“THe obligatory pint”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were staying in Dublin and had to have the obligatory pint. We called in by chance looking for a traditional Irish pub. This place appears excellent and it is. The food looks brill although we didn't eat. Just had tonreviewnthough as a laugh for us, you see there was this handyman 'fixing' the toilets, however he soon had water coming from everywhere and generally the ceiling, I am not joking. Water running everywhere including down a tv, a mirror and a beam, to flood the back part of the pub.
Great atmosphere, if not a little damp....!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    553
    131
    34
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Great food, great pints, great people”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Hairy Lemon offers very good traditional Irish fare; we ate there twice while in Dublin for a week. The pints are excellent and the staff serving you are wonderful people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we found this place!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We were just walking about looking for good food and this is the place we found. The food was excellent and atmosphere was so inviting. Our waitress Mellissa was very friendly and the desserts she recommended were the best I had during my trip to Dublin!!! I would highly recommend this place if u are in Dublin! The Irish stew is great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards, northern ireland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Hearty Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We always have breakfast here once a month when we are in Dublin. We love the breakfast, and the staff are friendly and provide a great atmosphere and environment. Annette we now chat to when we visit, and its nice to be remembered even if it is a month between or visits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zaria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice pub”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were here with 8 People for a dinner. The Food was really great and the Pub is beautiful. We had a great young Lady who bring all the Food and Drinks to our table.
The only bad thing was the bill when we saw that we must pay a Service Charge about 10%. That was really a little shock.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hairy Lemon Cafe Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Hairy Lemon Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing