We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a steak lover but loved this”

F.X. Buckley Steakhouse
Ranked #8 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Serving Ireland's best steak in Temple Bar, a traditional Irish steakhouse with the experience and knowledge of over 25 years serving the perfect steak. We change our menus seasonally to reflect the finest that Irish produce has to offer in combination with the finest wines, cocktails and spirits to cater for all tastes and budgets. The Buckley Family has built a reputation as purveyors of quality meats for over six generations. Francis Xavier opened his first butcher shop on Moore Street in 1930 and this soon became awell-known Dublin institution. Since then it was part of a natural progression to open our own steakhouses around the city and serve our famous beef from our butchers to your table.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not a steak lover but loved this”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here for last night in Dublin. Dinner was lovely. We were a party of 7. I am not a steak lover and I really enjoyed my well done steak medallions with mash. I would definitely return of there, if there was an opportunity. It tasted fresh and the group all enjoyed their food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leoniesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,593
    425
    96
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top notch steakhouse!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

OK, so it was early evening on Saturday and we had been walking around Dublin for most of the day. We were getting rather hungry and since it was my birthday, my wife had promised to take me for a nice steak.
We had gravitated back to the Temple Bar area and in a little side street off Dame Street, we found the FX Buckley Grill. Bingo! The head waiter was able to find us a table, despite the fact that we hadn't reserved and all of a sudden we found ourselves in steak paradise.
Because it was still quite early in the evening, we chose from the pre-theatre menu which is excellent value at €30 for three courses. What can I say - it was all great! We had baby back ribs and salmon for starters, rump steak as a main and cheesecake and chocolate cake for dessert and I can't fault any of them. The steaks were the highlight of the evening, though – perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and above all very, very tasty.
The decor in the restaurant is stylish but relaxed and it is very easy to have an enjoyable meal there, especially since the staff are attentive and friendly. We will definitely go back the next time we're in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose to go to this restaurant after reading reviews on here and we were certainly NOT disappointed. The service and food was outstanding one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Great wine list and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisapammiepostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow amazing!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I am not sure I can praise this restaurant enough there nothing I would really fault. after our meal I didn't want to leave I was so comfy!

My partner and I both enjoy steak we regularly go to the butchers at home so are fairly familiar with a good steak this was up there with the best steak I have had the rib eye was delicious. it was also a great addition that you could choose from a selection of sides sometimes a change from chips is good. I got a jacket potato and it was lovely too.

I wish I could remember the name of the waiter as he was fantastic very attentive and friendly and was clearly passionate about steak too!

We did also manage to squeeze in a dessert in the way of a cheesecake again it did not disappoint and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I would certainly come back to this restaurant again!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahFitzhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“St. Patrick's Day Celebration Meal”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This meal was fantastic. I shared a Chareaubriand. I can honestly say it as the best steak meal I have ever had. The service was top class and very friendly.

The atmosphere was really relaed.

Will certainly visit the chain again.

The cost was well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazza18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F.X. Buckley Steakhouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to F.X. Buckley Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing