We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great service at good value!”
Review of Chai Yo

Chai Yo
Ranked #245 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Chai yo is split into two sections, upstairs we have three teppanyaki (hibachi) tables where the chef entertains and cooks in front of you. Down stairs we have the more conventional restaurant sitting. We serve a variety of asian cuisines such as teppanyaki, sushi, thai curries and chinese food. We love to cater for large groups at the teppanyaki tables where we can accomodate up to 40 ppl on the three tables. Dont forget every night we have singers and a guitarist to help you celebrate that perfect night.
1 review
“Great food and great service at good value!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I order take away from Chai Yo on a regular basis and they have never let me down on quality. A few weeks ago I went for my first "eat in visit" and I must say it was a great experience. Food excellent as always and friendly, attentive staff. Will be back!

Anna O, Dublin

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olssona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    72
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than a restaurant!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A truely unique experience, The food is delicious, the staff are friendly and plesent and the atmosphere is fantastic. For a enjoyable dining experience for a group I would highly recommend booking a Teppanyaki table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great enterntainment”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our chef is a pure comedian - the entertainment was great and we even get a sing along with the chefs and staff there. The food are good but not the authentic Japanese that one would expect. The menu is limited to selections of seafood, steak and chicken.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodlover_990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friday Night Out”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went here on a recommendation from a friend and even though the food was very good we were left a little disappointed.
We were seated downstairs and it seems that all the action goes on the ground floor. You can see all your food being cooked and there is a great atmosphere, (we could hear all the good fun being had!).
The menu is extensive (Japanese & Chinese) and fairly reasonable and there are some really fantastic deals to be had, early bird, entertainment deals upstairs etc.
Next time we go however, (definitely worth a return visit) we will stay on the ground floor and not be hidden away downstairs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jennboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food and a show”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

First, the food was great. As a group of 7 we had a selection of food and all of us were happy. The sercice was great and our water glasses were always full. But more importantly, the cook, Joey, was very entertaining and we had some great singing from the staff afterwards. I would recommend the restaurant highly. However, I would rather go in a large group than in a couple.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisecosgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Yo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chai Yo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing