We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing Atmosphere”
Review of The Market Bar

The Market Bar
Ranked #332 of 2,592 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Buzzing Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Met two different groups of friends here for a pre Christmas get together on two different days. It's great venue and so child friendly. Kiddies menu is reasonably priced (around €6.50) and doubles up as a colouring sheet. The adult portions are large, even for the "small" tapas. Small range but consistently good. Service is swift and friendly. If the Market Bar keeps up this standard it will always be busy with a truly buzzing atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    313
    83
    30
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IRL
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Value - great food”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

All round a goo experience - Room is massive and a nice outdoor / smoking area. In a very good part of town .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BIGBADBOB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and nicer tapas”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

I visited this bar with a group of work colleagues. The atmosphere is very unique for Dublin and is more akin to downtown New York. The food is good value and very nice, service is good and overall this facility is worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“market bar”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Academy Plaza Hotel
I have been to the street Academy Plaza Hotel on Parnell Square Dublin city centre just off o Connells. It’s a short walk to Dublin Temple Bar. It’s also a good place to stay if you are going to a concert in the Academy because they are very close to each other.
The outside of the building is boring and just looks like a block of apartments and I think that the entrance is too plain. But don’t judge a book by its cover I found the inside of the hotel to be very nice and the staff wear friendly.
The bed room were not very big but that’s okay because they looked good. The beds wear decorated with red pillows and I found them to be comfortable. The bathrooms wear nice I liked the marble that the counters wear made out of the baths wear nice and big. The showers wear also big. . They also had tiger print chairs witch I found to be interesting as it added more life to the room.
The bar was good and the food was also nice. I had the breakfast, I got the full English breakfast which was nice but very graze but all fries are.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erik b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top notch tapas in good surroundings...”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I always enjoy tapas in market bar...particularly their patas bravas and chicken skewers, which are both to die for. There's usually a good atmosphere, such that you only realise after leaving that there's no music playing in the background.

Their value menus are excellent value but prices are generally quite reasonable for what it is in any event.

Helpful?
Thank ROC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Market Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing