We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch & Kid friendly too”
Review of The Market Bar

The Market Bar
Ranked #306 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Ireland
Level Contributor
343 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch & Kid friendly too”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Market bar is a great value spot for lunch, there is a huge amount of space inside, so if you are with your kids there is plenty of room for a stroller & they also have plenty of fun games for kids to play with on the tables (which is a rarity in Dublin!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclaren1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    310
    82
    29
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, fab atmosphere and lovely staff!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The interior is stunning, well worth a visit for tapas and wine, or just for a few drinks at the bar. great buzz about the place and friendly staff. More than holds its own in a busy area in Dublin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessieanddamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still my favourite, but...”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here many times and I love it- especially the nachos, patatas bravas and the meatballs. The sangria is fab too but a little on the expensive side( there is so much fruit, you only get 4 small glasses from 1L). However, on my most recent visit the service was lacking, we waited 20 mins for our drinks order and had to ask 3 different staff members. My friend ordered banoffi for dessert. It was poor and the cream tasted of onions! Overall, I would return but next time I'll get my own drink from the bar!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best place in town for Tapas !”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This place has it all! Good service ,amazing tapas,great value and a really stand out interior! I was on spain recently and I have to say the tapa's there did not stand up to the ones served here .It is a great place to bring some one visiting Dublin as this place Is worth seeing and the tapas are not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A-Reviewer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and enjoyed it every time.
There is always a fantastic atmosphere there.
The food comes in small (8euro) or large (12euro) portions of tapas.
4 or 5 small tapas portions would be lots of food for 2 people sharing.

There is a huge selection of beers and wines available also.

The market bar is ideally located close to several good bars.
The service is excellent, the staff are very friendly
I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Market Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing